NOTES ON A GOUDY FAMILY OF CAROLINA AND MISSISSIPPI
Reprinted with permission from Gerald S. Pierce
This compilation has been prepared for private distribution and not
for publication. Those who
have an interest in the Goudy (Gowdy) and related families are welcome to make such use of it as
they will but are asked to make clear to any who may receive any part of it at second hand that it
is simply a collection of research notes, not a finished work.
This compilation was made several years ago, as dates mentioned here and there in the text will
make clear, not with a view toward its general distribution but solely as a means to bring together
the results of a Preliminary review of readily available documents related to a line of my wife's
Sources are cited, mainly within the individual notes on named persons. Some of the citations are
to primary sources but, particularly with respect to the Goudys of early Carolina, are often to
secondary sources. Of the few secondary sources named that relate directly to the family, I found
Margaret J. Watson's Greenwood County Sketches: Old Roads and Early Families (Greenwood,
1970, 1982) most valuable. Of course, each user of this compilation will judge for himself the
reliability of the sources cited and will place such reliance on them as he may wish.
Similarly, users are free to accept or reject my conclusions about certain family connections
mentioned in this compilation. For example, Margaret Watson says that Major James Goudy of
Ninety Six and Cambridge was a son of Indian trader Robert Goudy. Though there is no
documentation (that I know of) related to his birth or christening that proves the connection and
his name is not mentioned in Robert Goudy's will I think there is abundant reason to agree with
Margaret Watson about James Goudy's parentage. (Without going into a lot of detail about clues
to the identification, I will mention these facts: Robert Goudy's family was apparently the only
one of that name in this sparsely settled country at the time Robert and James lived; James is
known to have been born in Ninety Six; and James was buried in the little family cemetery
adjacent to Robert's old trading house at Ninety Six.) I have concluded that James Goudy and his
wife, Betsy Chiles Goudy, were the parents of John and Jane Goudy of Abbeville District, part of
the old Ninety Six District. I also have come to the belief that John and Jane were parents of the
William Goudy who moved to Mississippi from South Carolina. The reasons behind my
conclusions will be found in the text.
These preliminary notes no doubt contain inaccuracies, possibly many of them. Perhaps they will
be of use to some who take an interest in this Goudy line and who are in a position to supplement
them and correct errors. I hope there will continue to be a free interchange of information among
those who share an interest in this family.
Gerald S. Pierce
Camden, South Carolina
1. Goudy  Family. 12/15/93 The Goudy name had many variant spellings. Gouedy and Goudy the forms encountered in this branch of the family in the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries, Goudy and Gowdy in the nineteenth and twentieth. The form most frequently encountered is Goudy.
John M. Gowdy of Providence, Rhode Island, compiled a very ambitious work entitled A Family History, Comprising the Names of Gade - Gadie - Gaudie - Gawdie - Gowdy - Goudy - Gowdey - Gauden - Gaudern -- and the Variant Forms from A. D. 800 to A. D. 1919 (Lewiston, Maine: Journal Press, 1919). In it he attempted to trace to the beginning the family lineage of all the Goudy clan. He concluded that the first identifiable members of the family were Norsemen named "Gade" and "Gaut." He referred to a runestone on the Isle of Man known as the Gaut Monument, perhaps from the early ninth century. He proved to his satisfaction that Norsemen in Scotland, England and islands of the Irish Sea carried the name and concluded that the first British Goudys were descended from these Norsemen. He believed that the family name also came to Britain through the Normans, recently Norsemen themselves, with the Norman Conquest. He found records establishing the fact that men named Gade, Gaude, Gauden, and Gawda came to England at the time of and soon after 1066. Many remained in England where, according to Gowdy, some occupied high positions. Sir Breuse Gawdey (fl. 1352); Sir Bassingboum Gawdy; Francis Gawdy, Judge of the Queen's Bench who in 1586 handed down the sentence of death against Mary, Queen of Scots.
The name was found in England but it was more common in Scotland. More prosaically than Gowdy, Black, in his Surnames of Scotland (I 946, pp. 316,32 1), simply remarks that Goudy and Goudie are variants of the name Goldie. Harrison, Surnames of the United Kingdom (London, 1912-18; reprinted Baltimore, 1969), p. 171, says that Goudy was the Scottish version of the English name Goldie, from the Anglo-Saxon "gold" and the diminutive "ie." According to Gowdy, branches of the family were established in Scotland at an early date. The first documentary information on the family places the Gawdies in the parish of Gaiston in Ayrshire, where they were millers at Cragie Mill on a stream named Cessnock [east of Kilmarnock and southwest of Glasgow, in the Scottish lowlands]; Goudies and Gawdies lived at Cragic Mill for at least four hundred years, and no doubt a number of the branches of the family elsewhere in Scotland, in Ireland and in England sprang from the Cragie Mill family. (See Gowdy, pp. 146-148, for the Goudies of Ayrshire.) until the seventeenth century, the Presbyterian Gawdies were generally Covenanters and followers of Richard Cameron.
In the course of the development of the seventeenth century English and Scottish plantations in Ireland, some of the Goudys left Scotland and settled in Ulster. Ayrshire, in the western lowlands, was a major supplier of Protestant planters to seventeenth-century Ulster. Some must have migrated during the early years of the century. It is known that in the years 1681 and 1688 William Gowdy and John Gowdy settled in County Down. John Gowdy was a schoolmaster and may have been the same man as the Reverend John Goudy, minister in the Presbyterian Church in Ballywater. In Ulster, the family name of those from Ayrshire was usually spelled Goudy or Gawdie, not Goudie. It is known that some of the American Goudy lines sprang from migrants from Ulster (the "Scotch-Hsh"), and almost a certainty that some went to America directly from Scotland.
Goudys from Ulster began arriving in America in the first years of the eighteenth century: in Dover, Newcastle and Isle of Shoals, New Hampshire, 1710-1715 (Amos Goudy, probably of Newcastle, was at York, Maine, 1722; James Goudy of New Hampshire was killed at the siege of Louisbourg in the "French War" ). Goudys were in Massachusetts by 1712 (Boston, Medford, Medfield, Marblehead, Taunton, Lynn). Others settled in Pennsylvania, the most popular destination for Scots from Ulster. See Gowdy, pp. 476-479, for notes on the Scots-Irish Goudys in Pennsylvania. The families of this name were said to have been affiliated with the Paxtang (Paxton) and Donegal congregations organized in the late 1720s. Many from Paxton and Donegal moved from Pennsylvania to the frontiers of Virginia and the Carolinas in the 1740s, and the odds are better than even that 8 Robert Gouedy was one of those who did so.
There are brief notes on Goudys in South Carolina in ibid., p. 605. Robert Gowdy and James Gowdy [8 Robert Gouedy and 7 James Gouedy] are mentioned, but nothing new is added.
The origin of the branch of the Goudy family ancestral to the South Carolina and Mississippi Goudys is not known, but it was certainly Scotland at some point; the branch probably detoured through Ulster for one to three generations. A John Gawdy was ruling elder of a Presbyterian congregation at Drumbo, County Down, Ulster, in 1713, and a James Gawdie was ruling elder of another congregation,at Newtownards County Down,in l7l4( Charles N.Boston,Scotch Irish pioneers in Ulster and America [Boston,1910; reprint Baltimore,1972], "Hometowns...,"pp.339-377).It is quite likely that the immigrant Goudy was Scots-Irish and that he came over with the tide of Ulster people that came into America (mainly through Pennsylvania) in the second and third decades of the eighteenth century.
The first identified Goudy from whom the Goudys of Mississippi are thought probably to have descended was 8 Robert Gouedy, or Goudy, the Carolina trader who died in 1776. It is likely that 8 Robert Gouedy was an immigrant who came to America from Ulster with his parents. Another possibility is that the Goudy immigrant came directly from Scotland and that he traveled alone. Robert Gouedy's taking up the role of Indian trader is more typical of the Scotsman than of the Scots-Irish. The researcher should check the records on Scots-Irish and Scottish immigrants up to the 1740s, on Great Tellico, the Cherokee town in today's East Tennessee, where 8 Robert Goudy traded before he moved his trading post to Ninety Six, South Carolina, about 1751. Since he was an authorized Indian trader, it is possible that records in the Public Records Office (London) related to the southern Indian trade will reveal something about his background; however, English supervision of the Indian trade before 1763 was haphazard, and there may be nothing at all to be found in the PRO. The colonial records of South Carolina contain many mentions of him, but no biographical information. North Carolina and Virginia records have not been searched.
Robert Gouedy of the eighth generation was followed by 7 Major James Gouedy (married 7 Elizabeth Chiles; see Chiles Family); probably by 6 John Goudy; by 5 William Goudy (married 5 Julia Anne (Kernell?) Foote); by 4 John Frank M Goudy (married 4 Mary Frances Tucker; see Tucker family); and by 3 Ann Elizabeth Tennessee Goudy. With the marriage of the last of this line to 3 Levi A. Vaughan, the Goudy name was lost in this particular line.
The Virginia State Library has a copy of pages from a Gowdy family bible, South Carolina, 1789-1944, 2 Xerox pages (accession 30435, filed Mise Coll 14). 1 have not seen it but suspect that it is of another group of Gowdys, from the Williamsburg area.
Locations and times for further research:
Scotland (esp. Ayrshire), to 1650 Ulster, seventeenth century Pennsylvania (esp. Lancaster County), 1700 - Virginia (esp. Augusta County), 1730 - 1750 Cherokee Nation (Over the Hilll Cherokees, esp. Tellico), 1740-1776 Tennessee, 1740-1776 North Carolina, 1740-1746 South Carolina (esp. Ninety Six District), 1750 - 1850 Mississippi (esp. Tippah and Tate counties), 1840- .
Goudy  Family had the following children:
+2 i. 8 Robert Goudy.
2. 8 Robert Goudy' died in 1775/76 in Ninety Six Dist., S.C.. He was born est 1710-1720. He was buried in Family cemetery, Ninety Six, Greenwood Co., S.C.. He was also known as Robert Gouedy. Nothing concrete is known of the background of Robert Gouedy (Goudy). He appears to have been a classic frontiersman. Since he was literate, it may be supposed that he was of the first generation of his family to have lived on the frontier. He may have been Scotch-Irish and he could have lived in Virginia or Pennsylvania before he first appeared on the scene, living among the Cherokees at Great Tellico, in what is now Monroe County, Tennessee. He may have been a Scot who came directly from Scotland; many of the Indian traders were. He probably descended from the Goudys of Ayrshire (see Goudy family sketch), perhaps through an Ulster branch. But everything about his background and early life falls into the realm of surmise and supposition, since nothing has been found so far that carries his story back from Tellico.
'Margaret Watson tells of the settlement of that part of the Ninety Six District of South Carolina that was centered on the trading post at Ninety Six, about ten miles from modern Greenwood. There apparently was some trade carried on there, at least sporadically, from 1737. Then, according to Watson, "Sometime in the early 1750's, Robert Goudy, an Indian trader, located at Ninety Six and is usually designated 'the first permanent settler' there. His name on maps, reports and other documents is spelled many different ways -- Gouedy, Goudey, Gaudey, and Gowdey are some of the variants. His will bears his only known signature, written 'Robert Goudy' [but see other readings of the name on the will, below]. He was on the list of licensed Indian traders in 1750, and records of the Board of Indian Commissioners indicate that he lived at Tellico in the Overhills area of Tennessee. In commission reports for 1753 Goudy is listed as bringing in rum 'for his store at Ninety Six'. No earlier mention of Goudy's Store has been found. His first land purchased there was 200 [250?] acres in 1751. He acquired additional land and had a house and barn near his store. A stockade 90 feet square was built around his barn by forces accompanying Governor Lyttelton on a trip to Fort Prince George near Keowee in 1759. This enclosed area was called 'Goudys Fort' or sometimes 'Fort Ninety Six'."
The fort and trading house lay about a mile southeast of the reconstructed Star Fort of 1780 near the small town of Ninety Six, Greenwood County. The sites are in the Ninety Six National Historic Site on S. R. 248 south of modern Ninety Six. To reach the unmarked location of the trading post (where a deep depression in the ground and a number of foundation stones can be seen), follow the track of the old Charleston road south from the site of the old village of Ninety Six. Go 400 paces south from the place where the park trail runs into the Charleston road, to the marked crossing of the old Cherokee trading path. Immediately south of the Cherokee trail, go right on a small trail to the new, unpaved road that parallels the track of the old Charleston road. Follow the new road south to an open field with a flagpole in the center, marking the location of Goudy's fort. The trading house (I believe) was located at the southeast edge of this field, where a depression is seen. Immediately to the west of the depression is the head of the Goudy Trail that meanders south through wooded country along Spring Branch and toward Henley's Creek. The Goudy family cemetery, marked only by the gravestone of Robert Goudy's son James, will be found a short distance along the Goudy Trail.
(National Park Service personnel told me in July 1993 that they hoped to complete the archaeological work on the Goudy home, trading post and fort sites and to extend the marked trails in the National Historic Site to the locations associated with the Goudy family and events of the French and Indian War. At that time, however, the mostly unmarked sites could be reached only by inquiring about them. A reenactment of the 1760 Indian attacks on Goudy's Fort was planned for April 1994, so presumably additional work would be done on the sites before that time.)
The important work done by Robert L. Meriwether, The Expansion of South Carolina, 1729-1765 (Kingsport, Tenn., 1940), has a good deal to say about Robert Goudy and his significance in the development of this most westerly frontier of South Carolina. In particular, see pp. 63, 132, 169, and 219.
Jerome A. Greene (Historic Resource Study and Historic Structure Report; Ninety Six: A Historical Narrative [Denver: National Park Service, Branch of Historical Preservation, 1981], pp. 9-11, 17-48) adds to the story told by Watson: "The principal settler at Ninety Six and the most influential community resident over several decades was Robert Gouedy. For several years Gouedy had been a trader to the Cherokees, but early in 1750 hostile warriors had raided his packtrain, causing him much financial loss. Although he returned to the Cherokees the next winter, Gouedy determined that it would be his last visit, and in May 1751, he led his packtrain down to Ninety Six loaded with skins and guarded by sixty eight Cherokee warriors. At about this time Gouedy took up permanent abode at Ninety Six [citing Marvin L. Cann, Old Ninety Six and The South Carolina Back-country, 1700-1755 (Greenwood: Lander College, 1970), p.4]. By 1753 he was importing rum from the coast for his store, where a major portion of the Cherokee trade was by then being transacted [citing Meriwether, Expansion of South Carolina, pp. 63-132]."
Greene tells us that Goudy bought his land from one Thomas Nightengale, whose property was bounded on the north by John Hamilton's 1751 survey line which intersected the Cherokee path at Ninety Six. His first tract, of 250 acres, straddled the Cherokee path. He also bought two adjacent tracts. His holdings, over 1,500 acres in all, extended over several broad ridges and included a number of creeks and springs, according to Greene. A 1773 map of the Province of South Carolina, printed in Greene (illustration 4, page 237), shows two places, evidently plantations, designated "Goudeys.' Both were on the east side of the Saluda, one at the mouth of Reedy River (now called a creek), the other at the mouth of Cane Creek. The locations were near today's Waterloo, in Laurens County. 'Me plantations were some twelve to fifteen miles from Ninety Six; Goudy obviously he had land that was not contiguous to his base at Ninety Six.
Greene says that Goudy "ran cattle, horses, and sheep, and owned thirty-four slaves to assist in these enterprises. An adept frontier entrepreneur, Gouedy loaned money at interest while operating his trading establishment, which purveyed cloth, beads, needles, thread, tools, gunpowder, lead, and ruin, besides many other articles. Once, when a trader defaulted, Gouedy took two constables and six assistants into the wilderness and confiscated four slaves from the offender (citing a report from Captain Demere to Governor Lyttelton, December 30, 1751." His was "one of the major commercial centers on the South Carolina frontier" when he died in 1775.
Governor Glen had built Fort Prince George (at Keowee) in 1753 to protect western South Carolina against raids from French-influenced Indians. The flow of people and goods along the Cherokee and Savannah trails, which met a mile northeast of his residence and trading house, increased markedly. At this time, his store "started to become a commercial nucleus." The building in 1756 of Fort Loudoun, ninety miles beyond Fort Prince George in today's Tennessee, increased the movements through Ninety Six and no doubt contributed a little to Goudy's growing prosperity.
His sale of rum, much of which found its way to the Cherokees, brought strong complaints against him from military and civil authorities. An army officer at the fort complained in 1756 about Goudy's activities: He suggested to Governor Lyttelton that he consider "the most pernicious consequence of bringing rum into this [Cherokee] Nation' and hoped "that proper Measures will be immediately taken to put a Stop to such destructive Proceedings. Robert Goudy I am informed still continues to furnish Pack Horsemen and other idle growling Fellows with Rum and he always has a Number of Keggs by him for that Purpose."
The war known in America as the French and Indian War had broken out in 1754. French-inspired Indian attacks and Indian-supported French campaigns were confined to the colonies from Virginia to New England, but the Carolinas experienced their own Indian war during the same years. The conveniently located trading post, center of the uppermost settlement in South Carolina, became the scene of major military activity in the years 1759 through 1761.
While the powerful Cherokee tribe was nominally friendly to the British, Indian-white relations were not at all good on this section of the frontier. The increase of the white population in the district, intrusions by settlers such as the Caldwell and Calhoun families into the Indian territory beyond Long Cane Creek, and the murder of Cherokee hunters by settlers produced great tension between whites and Cherokees. Governor Lyttelton in 1758 tried to calm the Indians by sending valuable goods to the Cherokees through Goudy's trading house. His efforts were undone, however, by the appearance of scalp hunters from Virginia who killed thirty Cherokees in the summer of 1758 to collect the bounty offered by their province for Indian scalps. In 1759, Overhill Cherokees killed nineteen whites in North Carolina and displayed their scalps at Keowee near Fort Prince George. Cherokee hostages were thereupon taken by Lyttelton's orders, and the governor made a personal visit to the western outposts. He was at Ninety Six on November 21, 1759. The very next day he issued orders to build a stockade around Goudy's barn and other outbuildings. Within a week, what was called Fort Ninety Six was built at Goudy's: a square stockade of upright logs, ninety feet on each side, a dirt embankment, two bastions, a firing step or banquette, and a gate. Inside were Goudys barn, now a military storehouse, and some sheds that served as barracks. The place was garrisoned by invalids when Lyttelton and the main force went on to Fort Prince George on November 29.
The fort was not very impressive, but it was much stronger than the private forts that were found all along the American frontiers; a dozen or so were in the Saluda River neighborhood of Ninety Six. British army captain Richard Dudgeon, who did the engineering on the fort, wrote in August 1760 to Lord Jeffrey Amherst, commander in chief of British forces in North America, giving some details on the fortification. He declined to name it "a Post of Consequence," saying its situation and construction were unsuited to such a designation.
However, Fort Ninety Six (or Goudys fort as it was often called) proved its value in less than three months' time. Lyttelton's visit to the Cherokees (and the taking of Cherokee hostages, who were lodged in Fort Prince George) worsened rather than improved relations between the Indians and the whites. Fort Prince George was surrounded. Settlers retreating from the Long Cane settlement to Augusta were attacked on February 1, 1760, and about two dozen killed (see notes on the Caldwell and Calhoun families). Two Indian women had carried word to Goudy from Prince George that some Cherokee warriors were on their way toward Ninety Six; two travelling traders (some of the "idle, growling fellows" that the British officer complained of) confirmed their report. The news was received on January 30, and the garrison and refugee settlers were ready for what came a few days later.
Goudys Fort resisted Cherokee Indian attacks on February 3 and March 3-4, 1760. In the first incident, some thirty or forty attackers under the lead of Young Warrior burned Robert Goudys house; two Indians were killed. Less than two weeks later the commander at Fort Prince George (near Keowee and modern Clemson, S. C.) was killed, and 22 Cherokee hostages were killed by the garrison. Fort Loudoun was cut off and besieged. The garrison at Ninety Six, commanded by Captain James Francis, was ravaged by smallpox. Despite their weakness, the soldiers and settlers held the fort against more than two hundred Cherokees who attacked on March 3 and maintained their fire for 36 hours. None of the defenders was killed, nor were any seriously wounded. Six dead warriors were found on March 6, when the defenders ventured out. Francis wrote the governor that "We have now the Pleasure, S.r, to fattn Our Dogs wth their Carkases, & to Display their Scalps, neatly Ornamented on the Top of Our Bastions." According to the report in the South Carolina Gazette, March 15, 1760, the body of only one of the Cherokees was "given to the Dogs," while the Cherokees took away with them the bodies of five others. The Indians burned all the houses, barns and crops and killed the livestock within two miles of Fort Ninety Six before going on over to the Saluda River to carry their offensive further east.
In the weeks that followed, Governor Stephen Bull, who replaced Lyttelton in April, asked Amherst to send down some regulars from New York, recruited militia, increased the scalp bounty, and sent fifty soldiers and four swivel guns to Fort Ninety Six at Goudy's. Most of the troops in the area were volunteer rangers and militiamen, but a few British regulars were there from time to time. A major force was present in May, when regulars under Colonel James Grant, under the overall - command of Colonel Archibald Montgomery, arrived from New York, sent down by General Jeffrey Amherst. The 1,200 British troops included the 77th Highlanders and the First Regiment of Foot, augmented by several hundred local volunteers and militia. The troops were at Ninety Six for only a few days. Robert Goudy did not join them; he had relatives in the Cherokee Nation and, besides, he was a trader, not a soldier. He sold provisions worth 337 pounds sterling while Montgomery was there. Among the Indians with them were Catawbas from the Waxhaws, Chickasaws from the West, and even a Seneca and some Mohicans from New York. On May 28, Montgomery and Grant pushed on toward the Cherokees. The campaign was poorly managed and anything but a success. Montgomery burned several small villages but failed to defeat the Indians in the one pitched battle that was fought. He left the garrison at Fort Loudoun without protection, and it was abandoned, most of its men killed or captured as they withdrew.
As Montgomery moved east, preparatory to his own return to New York, he left a couple of dozen regular soldiers at Fort Ninety Six. In January, 1761, Colonel James Grant returned to South Carolina with 1,300 British regulars, charged by Amherst to do what Montgomery had failed to do: to subjugate the Cherokees once and for all. South Carolina militiamen and volunteers were rallied. Major William Moultrie of the South Carolina auxiliaries was sent with 220 soldiers to Fort Ninety Six in April to strengthen the post and to lay in supplies for the impending campaign against the Cherokees. Moultrie supervised the construction of a new stockade enclosure, Fort Middleton, and the expansion of Fort Ninety Six; one side of the old fort was torn down and new palisades erected ten yards further out. New storage buildings were also built. Grant's army of some 3,000 men was there from May 14 to May 18, 1761, then left for Fort Prince George and the Cherokee Nation. Grant's campaign was as successful as Montgomery's had been a failure. The Indians were defeated in a pitched battle, towns large and small were destroyed, crops and animals killed. In December, 176 1, the Cherokee leaders agreed to a treaty which severely limited their ability to move about in the land to the east of their villages, allowed the British to build forts wherever they liked, and opened the way to legal settlements by whites at some distance beyond Long Cane Creek.
In the summer of 1762 white prisoners were brought into Goudys to exchange for Indian prisoners who would be brought up from Charleston. After the exchange was made, the Indians withdrew. Thereafter, they could travel to Goudys only with permission of British authorities or unless accompanied by a white man. Goudys direct trade with the Indians must have dropped off considerably as a result of this treaty. Thereafter, his principal market was surely the white settlers, whose numbers increased rapidly over the next few years. The village of Ninety Six sprang up after 1767, only a few hundred yards north of Goudy's, where the wartime fortifications were gradually falling into decay. Goudy, as usual, made money; this time he subdivided his land and sold to settlers able and willing to pay. A contemporary map shows residences of Goudys, Maysons, Cunninghams, and Whites around Ninety Six and over to the Saluda River, a few miles to the east. All of these names are in the direct line of the family or are allied to it by marriage.
By the end of the decade, the village of Ninety Six, given a circuit court as a result of the Regulator uprising, had supplanted Goudy's as the center of affairs in the Ninety Six District. During all of the decade, Robert Goudy had been highly visible as a trader and entrepreneur but apparently totally inactive in other areas. There is no sign that he was ever directly involved in military activities. He made room for the military, sold them supplies and benefited from their presence -- but he seems never to have taken a hand in the their affairs. It may be that he continued to have regard for the Cherokees among whom he had lived and among whom were three of his children. Or it may be that he was just a hard-headed trader who had no time for anything that would not bring him a profit.
Similarly, when the Regulator movement took shape in the late 1760s, with the Westerners demanding a more responsive and representative government in the province, Goudy is not known to have been actively involved. If he was involved it was in a small way. James Mayson, a fellow Scot (two of whose sons married into the family of Robert Goudys son James) was the leader of the movement in the Ninety Six area. One of the results of the Regulator movement was that a judicial district known as the Ninety Six District was organized, with the new settlement of Ninety Six adjacent to Goudys the site of the court house and jail. The roads were improved after certain wagon paths were declared public roads and nearby residents were placed under obligation to maintain them; Goudy was one of the commissioners for the Charleston road that passed in front of his trading house. He had a house in the village of Ninety Six, one of perhaps a dozen that were built there before the Revolution. He had slave artisans working as carpenters, wagoners and coopers as well as the foremen and field hands who worked his plantation lands.
What his political views may have been as the Revolution approached cannot be discerned. Nothing has come down to us that gives us a clue to these views. He was still living early in 1775 when other prominent men in the district were chosen to serve in the Continental Congress; his neighbors James Mayson and Andrew Williamson and his associate Patrick Calhoun of Long Cane were selected, but Goudy remained in the background. When the Congress set about raising Whig militia units, he was not heard from. James Mayson and Andrew Williamson were majors in the ranger unit raised in Ninety Six, but Goudy's name does not appear among those involved.
He was married to 8 Mary ---- after 1760. There is no mention of Robert Goudys having had a family with him in his trading house at the time of the 1760 Indian attack on the house. It is also unlikely that his white son James and dau. Sarah were born before the 1770s. 8 Mary - died after 1776. 8 Robert Goudy and 8 Mary ---- had the following children:
+3 i. Major 7 James Goudy
4 ii. Sarah Goudy'. A daughter of Robert Goudy, she is mentioned in her father's 1775 will. Nothing concrete is known of her. She was not at Ninety-Six (Cambridge) in 1806, according to Edward Hooker, village schoolmaster, who said that only her brother James was a "native citizen" there (Watson, p. 18). It is possible that she was the woman named Goudy who married Willis Mayson, son of James Mayson (1733-1799) rather than a hypothetical grand-daughter of Robert Goudy (Watson, p. 325). See entry on Archibald Mayson (Willis's brother) for the Mayson family.
Robert Goudy probably established his Cherokee family while acting as a trader in Tellico, a village of the Overhill Cherokees in modern Tennessee, around 1750. 8 Robert Goudy and Unknown Cherokee Woman had the following children:
5 i. Peggy Goudy' was born before 1750 in [Great Tellico, Cherokee Nation (Tennessee)]. She died after 1776 in [Cherokee Nation]. Robert Goudy left 150 pounds to each of his Indian daughters by his 1775 will. He died in 1776. (Watson, p. 13)
6 ii. Kianague Goudy was born before 1750 in [Great Tellico, Cherokee Nation (Tennessee)]. She died after 1776 in [Cherokee Nation]. See note on Peggy Goudy, another of Robert's Indian daughters.
7 iii. Nancy Goudy was born before 1750 in [Great Tellico, Cherokee Nation (Tennessee)]. She died after 1776 in [Cherokee Nation]. See the note on Peggy Goudy, another of Robert's Indian daughters.
3. Major 7 James Goudy' was born about 1765/66 in Ninety Six Dist. [Greenwood Co.], S.C.. He died on Mar 5 1816 in Cambridge, Abbeville Dist. (Greenwood Co.), S. C.. He was buried in Edgefield Dist. [Greenwood Co.], S.C.. His tombstone is hard to read. It says "Sacred to the memory of Major James Gouedy--Died 5th March 1816. Aged 50 [56?] Years." The family cemetery is about a mile south of Star Fort, near site of the Goudy trading post, on the "Goudy Trail." GP visited it in July, 1993. He was also known as James Gouedy. 9/4/93 His name appears as Gouedy, as well as Goudy, Gowdy, and Gowdey. He was "Major James Gouedy" on his tombstone. The tombstone inscription is worn. It appears to say that he was aged 50 when he died in March, 1816. It is possible that the age was 56. So was born either in 1759/60 or, more likely, in 1765/66. He was still a boy when his father died in 1775 or 1776.
The record is silent about participation in the Revolution. He may have been too young or he may have been like his father in that he preferred to stick to the business of trading rather than become involved in military affairs. The surrounding countryside leaned strongly toward the Loyalist position, but his name does not appear among those who were involved in supporting the King's cause in the Ninety Six District, either in a military or civil capacity. Nor was any Goudy was listed among those who fought on the Whig side. He was at Ninety Six during the war and witnessed the events of 1780-81, when the village was fortified and strengthened by the erection of a stockade to the west and an impressive star fort to the east and where the loyalists withstood a lengthy siege directed by General Nathanael Greene. Still, he appears to have been only an onlooker. Long after the war he had good words to say about the commander of the Loyalist forces at Ninety Six, but the Goudy property was not confiscated as was generally the case with the property of committed Tories. It is reasonable to suppose that James as a boy and as a young man was less forceful than his father and not one that others turned to for leadership or that, like his father, he was neutral in those areas that were not relevant to his economic position. Little really is known of him.
Sometime before 1790, probably in the mid-1780s, he married 7 Elizabeth Chiles, daughter of 8 John Chiles, a member of a once-powerful Virginia family that had moved into the district in force during the Revolution and had furnished a number of volunteers to the Whig forces. Later he went into business with a man from her family, perhaps his father-in-law 8 John Chiles, perhaps one of his several brothers-in-law. Their mercantile firm, located in the new village of Cambridge, was known as Goudy and Chiles (Watson, p.188).
The study by Jerome A. Greene is a principal source on the communities at Ninety Six and Cambridge (Greene, Historic Resource Study and Historic Structure Report; Ninety Six: A Historical Narrative Denver: National Park Service, Branch of Historical Preservation, 1981). There is also considerable information on the Goudys in this valuable report, which was written in connection with the establishment of the Ninety Six National Historic Site.
In 1783 and 1784, the new town of Cambridge was laid out on land confiscated from Tory James Holmes, whose farm buildings just west of Spring Branch had been fortified with a stockade in 1780-81 (the reconstructed stockade may be seen on the Ninety Six National Historical Site, though nothing remains of Cambridge). The old town of Ninety Six, destroyed (as was Holmes's house) in the course of the work of fortification and the fighting that occurred in those two years, was abandoned, and the new town was laid out a quarter mile to its west. Half-acre lots were sold beginning in 1784. Ambitious plans were laid by the town developers, including one for the establishment of South Carolina's first public university. Lots were sold to promising people, including John Ewing Colhoun, soon to be elected United States Senator.
James Goudy, just reaching manhood at this time, probably bought one of the lots, or he may have been given one of the lots in exchange for one in the defunct village of Ninety Six. Since his family's house in Ninety Six was doubtless destroyed in 1781, he was entitled to a free lot. In any case, he soon went into business in Cambridge with one of the Chiles family. The new town was at the eastern edge of the new Abbeville County, one of six counties created in 1785 from the old Ninety Six judicial district. Goudy's old trading post, probably still owned by the Goudys (we do not know if James's mother was still alive at this time), was a little more than a half-mile south, just over the line in Edgefield County.
(A description of the Cambridge and the new counties will be found in Greene, pp. 179-183, The boundary between the two counties ran northeast-southwest from the Saluda to the Savannah and in this area followed the old 1749 survey for the Hamilton grant that intersected the Cherokee trail just north of where Goudy's father built his trading house in 1751. See Greene, p. 7, for information on the grant and the survey, and ibid., illustration 22, p. 273, for a map showing the judicial districts and counties of South Carolina as organized under the 1785 law. The boundary between Abbeville and Edgefield does not correspond to that of any of the modern counties of South Carolina. Both Cambridge and Goudy's old post were today's Greenwood County, about ten miles southeast of the county seat of Greenwood.)
James Gowdey [Goudy] in 1790 lived in Abbeville County, Ninety Six District, South Carolina. His family consisted of three males over 15 (including himself; 3 females (no age stated); and seven slaves (Heads of Families at the First Census of the United States Taken in the Year 1790: South Carolina [Washington: GPO, 1908], p. 59). He was probably about 24 years old at the time and his widowed mother, Mary, presumably still was alive. Nevertheless, he was listed as the head of the household. He had only one sister, Sarah. The location of his house is not known, but it certainly was in the village of Cambridge and probably on Guerard Street, the main thoroughfare of the town. Unfortunately, nearly all of the land records of the time have been lost and the town has completely disappeared.
A map published in 1787 (in Banastre Tarleton, A History of the Campaigns in 1780 and 1781, in the Southern Provinces of North America [London: T. Cadell, 1787]) shows a "Gowdey's" north of Ninety Six at the mouth of Rabons Creek at Saluda River. The information was probably taken from the 1773 map mentioned in the sketch on 8 Robert Goudy. It is doubtful that the reference is to the place where the Goudys lived in 1787.
James Gouedy [Goudy] in 1800 still lived in Abbeville District, doubtless in Cambridge. His family consisted of two males under 10, one 10-16, three 16-26, two 26-45; one female under 10, two 26-45; and nine slaves (Ronald Vem Jackson et at., South Carolina 1800 Census [Bountiful, Utah: Accelerated Indexing System, 1973). He was one of the men over 26. His son John was one of the boys or young men. Most of the people listed in the household may have been employees although some of them could have been family members not known to us.
In 1806, as it was described by schoolmaster Edward Hooker, Cambridge was "nothing more than a snug little village of 15 or 20 houses and stores on top of a small hill called Cambridge Hill. There is an area in the center of it, where stands an old brick Court House. At a little distance down the hill is the jail,--both in a neglected state.... The village has seven stores and three taverns. Its appearance is not at all flourishing; and it is said to have been decaying, ever since the new judiciary arrangement, by which the courts were removed to Abbeville" ("Diary of Edward Hooker, 1805-1808," in Annual Report of the American Historical Association for the Year 1896 (2 vols.; Washington: GPO, 1897),I, 884, cited in Greene, p. 185). Hooker describes having pleasant conversations with "Capt. Gowdy," the son of the early entrepreneur of Ninety Six, Robert Goudy: "He is an old inhabitant here and almost the only native citizen in the village or its neighborhood. He speaks highly of Col. [John Harris] Cruger the British commander here while the [star] fort was in the possession of the enemy. Says he was a finished gentleman in all his conduct and treated the inhabitants with much civility, punishing his men for abuses committed and restoring to the owners plundered property" (from Hooker's diary, p. 891, cited in Greene, p. 186).
So James and his family were in Cambridge as late as 1806. But the town had been declining markedly since the shift of courts to the district town of Abbeville in 1800, when Ninety Six District was abolished (it had been reduced in size in 1791; in 1800 its six component counties were designated judicial districts and each of them was given its own courthouse). The Indian trade was long since finished, and even the trade with the settlers of the mountain areas of western South Carolina, North Carolina and Tennessee had diminished greatly. It was probably sometime between 1806 and 1810 that James Goudy moved out of Cambridge, possibly back to the old family place where the original trading house had stood, over the county line in Edgefield. Whether the Goudy and Chiles store continued in business is not known.
The 1810 census lists only one Goudy household in South Carolina, that of James Goudy of Edgefield County. A breakdown of its composition is not available to me as I write. James died in March, 1816, and was buried just to the south of the old trading house. His grave is the only one that is marked and protected in the Gouedy Cemetery, on the "Goudy Trail" in a part of the National Historic Site that is as yet undeveloped. The cause of his death at the early age of fifty is not known. However, there was an influenza outbreak in Cambridge in 1815 that may have extended into the first part of 1816. Perhaps he fell victim to the flu.
James Goudy appears to have had little of the fire and drive of his father. He was apparently just a rather well-to-do planter and storekeeper in an area that passed from the frontier stage to that of a settled farming community in his own lifetime. The fact that he owned a number of slaves by 1790 and a couple more in 1800 showed that he was above the average run of area farmers, who would have owned no slaves or, at most, one or two. He would have styled himself "planter" rather than "farmer" and would have seen himself as one who was entitled to recognition as a community leader, worthy of having some deference shown to him.
Evidently he was accepted at this valuation. He was called "Captain Gowdy" in 1806, and he was "Major Gouedy" on his tombstone. So James Goudy at some point acquired the titles of captain and major, doubtless holding these ranks in the militia. That he held the ranks was an indicator of social and economic position but had no other real meaning. But South Carolina in the last years of the eighteenth century and the first years of the nineteenth was a quiet place. The civil war that had torn the state apart during the Revolution was over, the Tories gone or subdued. The danger of Indian attack was negligible. There was probably no occasion during the the time he was a militia officer (except the War of 1812, in which he seems to have played no part) for him to exercise a military command. He appears to have been a pretty ordinary man who lived a quiet life and left a much smaller imprint on the history of the area than his aggressive and active father had done.
The close tie with Ninety Six and Cambridge appears to have been broken with his death in 1816. A survey of the district after the War of 1812 showed a "Mrs. Gouedys" on the Edgefield road four or five miles south of Ninety Six ('Thomas Anderson survey of 1817, "improved for Mills' Atlas" of 1825; one of the improvements may have been the location of the Goudy place, so the move to the Edgefield road may have been made after 1817). This was probably the home of his widow, Elizabeth Chiles Goudy. The location was not on the Charleston road, so apparently she had moved from the old trading post. She may have operated a combination store and travelers' inn. When the 1820 census was taken, the family was not included. The family, recently so prominent in the area, seems to have disappeared. Perhaps it was overlooked. Perhaps Elizabeth had remarried, or the family may have left the state for a time. (Nearby upcountry Georgia was a popular destination for Carolinians in the post-War of 1812 period, and records for nearby Georgia counties should be searched for the family's name.)
For future researchers: A James Gowdy lived in Williamsburg County in 1820. This was a different family, and it is thought that there was no connection between the two. James Gowdys family included one male 26-45, one female under ten, one female 16-26. This cannot be the same James Goudy as the one in 1790 - 1800 period. The location is wrong, and the age is wrong. The same James Gowdy appears in 1830 census and 1840 census, Williamsburg District [Jackson, ed., South Carolina 1820 Census, p. 295; South Carolina 1830 Census, p. 239; South Carolina 1840 Census, p. 244]).
The names of James Goudy's children are not known from direct evidence, since he appears to have left no will, but by a process of elimination. Taking advantage of the fact that the name Goudy, with its variants, was an uncommon one, I have concluded that John Goudy (died 1846) was one of them. There may have been other children, but local records, reminiscences and secondary sources have developed no useful information. It appears to me that 8 Robert Goudy was the strongest, most forceful and most successful of the Goudys; 7 James rode on his coat tails but did not make much of an impression on the world around him. His children, beginning with 6 John Goudy, appear to have been even less noteworthy and the family practically disappeared from sight.
He was married to 7 Elizabeth (Betsy) Chiles (daughter of 8 John Chiles and 8 Mary Ann White) between 1785 and 1790 in [Cambridge, Abbeville Co., S.C.]. 7 Elizabeth (Betsy) Chiles' was born about 1765 in [Virginia]. She died after 1817 in [nr. Cambridge, Abbeville (Greenwood), S.C.. 8/7/93 The birth year of 7 Elizabeth Chiles is an educated guess, not a documented fact. She was next to last of nine children, so her parents were probably not very young when she was born. Her father is thought to have been born about 1735, her son John sometime between 1785 and 1790. She could have been born several years before 1765.
It is known that 7 James Goudy was a partner in the firm of Goudy and Chiles (or 'Gowdey and Chiles") at Cambridge, South Carolina, in the 1790s and early 1800s. It is also known that a daughter of John Chiles, Elizabeth, married a Goudy. Watson, p. 188, says it "seems likely that her husband was James, the mercantile partner of her father or brother at Cambridge." Robert Goudy had only one son, and he was the only male Goudy in the Chiles neighborhood in the 1780s, so it is a virtual certainty that they were husband and wife. The identity of James Goudy's business partner has not been established, but it was more likely to have been Elizabeth's brother than her father, I believe; names to look out for are Walter, John (Jr.) and Thompson Chiles, her brothers.
The sketch on 7 James Goudy tells of their residence in the new town of Cambridge and the family's move to nearby Edgefield County (possibly to the old Goudy farm and trading house) sometime between 1806 and 1810. Sometime after his death in 1816, she lived on the Edgefield road a few miles south of Cambridge. No record of her death has been seen and her burial place is not known. It is possible that she was buried in the Goudy cemetery in a grave that is not now marked. Major 7 James Goudy and 7 Elizabeth (Betsy) Chiles had the following children:
+8 i. 6 John Goudy.
8. 6 John Goudy was born between 1785 and 1790 in Cambridge, Abbeville Dist. (Greenwood Co.), S. C.- He died in 1846 in Abbeville Dist., S. C..' 1/18/95 The name of John Goudy appears in the 1840 and 1843 censuses of Abbeville District, South Carolina (p. 72 in 1840 census; location in 1843 census not given; both in CD 152).
The will of John Gowdy of Abbeville District, South Carolina, dated April 27,1846 (Abbeville Will Book 3, transcripts p. 175, microfilm roll 3) alluded to but did not name his wife [Jane]. He wanted his family to stay together during her lifetime. He mentioned their deceased daughter Nancy, who was the wife of James Cunningham; a son, Robert M. Gowdy; and daughters Eliza and Jane Gowdy. Robert M. Gowdy was named executor.
Apart from the information contained in the will, nothing is known of John Goudy. A search of land records in the old Abbeville District (if they are sufficiently complete) would probably expand the picture.
There are many reasons to conclude that 5 William Goudy was 6 John Goudy's son, although he was not mentioned in the will. It is likely that William, aged 36 in 1846, had long since left his father's house. He may already have received his inheritance from his father; such was often the case. 6 John Goudy was probably concerned with his younger children who were still at home and had not been provided for: Robert M., Eliza and Jane. 5 William and his family, son Robert, widow Jane, and daughter Jane all moved to Tippah County, Mississippi, soon after the death of 6 John Goudy.
The widow of John Goudy and their daughter Jane lived next to 5 William Goudy in Mississippi and, as it happened, a little distance from Robert. John Goudys widow died during the Civil War and was buried in the cemetery of the Sand Springs Methodist Church near Blue Mountain; 5 William Goudy was buried near her when he died in 1885. Jane Goudy, the widow of John Goudy, was born in the early 1780s (1781 according to the census, 1784 according to the tombstone); her late husband was probably born about the same time, and the couple was of the right age to have been parents of 6 William, Robert and Jane. It is just possible that 5 William Goudy was a late-born son of the ancestor now placed in the seventh generation, 7 James Gouedy (in which case the one now called 6 John Goudy would be reclassified as a brother of 5 William Goudy), but it is much more likely that he was the son of 6 John Goudy.
He was married to 6 Jane ---- before 1810 in South Carolina. 6 Jane -'was born on Apr 1 1781 in South Carolina. That her place of birth was South Carolina comes from the 1880 census report on her son, William Goudy. See the sketch on him. She died in Jan 1864 in Tippah County, Mississippi. She was buried in Sand Springs Cem., Blue Mountain, Miss.. Sand Springs Cemetery is said to be a mile east of Blue Mountain, Miss., on Highway 368. The road has been driven several times but the cemetery has not been located. 12/18/93 That her first name was Jane was learned through the 1860 census. She and an unmarried daughter lived next to 5 William Goudy, near Orizaba (Cotton Plant), Tippah County, Mississippi. She was 79 (born about 1781), according to the information in the census, a weaver, literate, and owning personal property valued at $800. See 1860 federal census, Tippah County, Miss., Southern Subdivision, house 842, family 841; microfilm roll 592, p. 123. Jane Goudy died in 1864 and was buried in the cemetery of the Sand Springs Methodist Church. Her own name is not given on the headstone, which just identifies her as the wife of John Goudy [thought to have died in South Carolina in 1846]. Her son William is buried near her. According to the headstone, as recorded by a member of the Tippah County Historical Society, she was born April 1, 1781. 6 John Goudy and 6 Jane ---- had the following children:
+9 i. 5 William Goudy
+10 ii. Nancy Goudy.
+11 iii. Robert M. Goudy.
+12 iv. Eliza Goudy was born in Abbeville Dist., S. C.
+13 v. Jane Goudy.
9. 5 William Goudy was born on Apr 1 1810 in Cambridge, Abbeville Dist. (Greenwood Co.), S. C.. He died on Jan 20 1885 in Orizaba, Tippah Co., Miss. The tombstone has the date January 20. The death notice in the Ripley Southern Sentinel has the date of death January 19, 1885. He was christened in Methodist Church. He was buried in Sand Springs Cem., Blue Mountain, Miss..Sand Springs Cemetery is said to be a mile east of Blue Mountain, Miss., on Highway 368. The road was driven on July 29, 1993, and the cemetery was not seen. The Sand Springs Methodist Church is -- or was - near the cemetery. 1/18/95 A William Goudy, believed to have been this one, was a resident in 1840 of Abbeville District, South Carolina (Ronald Vern Jackson et al., eds., South Carolina Census 1840 [Bountiful, Utah: Accelerated Indexing System, 1977], reference to p. 60 in original census; also in CD 5), where the Goudy family had settled about 1750. Near him lived John Goudy, believed to have been his father (ibid., reference to p. 72 in census; CD 5). The parentage of 5 William Goudy is not entirely clear. It is possible that he was a late-born son of 7 James Gouedy rather than a son of the one now designated as 6 John Goudy (who would thus have been his brother). Major James Gouedy would have been about 45 in 1810, when 5 William Goudy was born. Unfortunately, 7 James Gouedy did not leave a will, and the early censuses did not give names other than heads of households. The line of descent shown here, through 6 John Goudy, is believed to be correct.
The William Goudy family (the surname sometimes spelled "Gowdy") moved to Mississippi from South Carolina between 1845 and 1847. In the 1850 census of Tippah County, Mississippi, he is shown with his wife Julia Ann and five children, aged one to eleven. The older children were born in South Carolina, while those born after 1846 were born in Mississippi.
William Goudy settled in the Orizaba-Cotton Plant area (about five miles south of Blue Mountain), where he had a farm. In 1850, he owned $300 worth of real estate [probably a 160-acre farm]. His wife and five children lived with him. See 1850 federal census, Tippah County, Miss., District No. 2, house 719, p. 445. In 1856 and 1861, the tax assessor's lists showed him the owner of four adult slaves and other taxable personal property (microfilm copies of Tippah County tax lists in Ripley, Miss., public library). The federal census in 1860 indicated that he had real estate valued at $2,400 and personal property (horses, mules, farm equipment, and slaves, no doubt) worth $3,264. See 1860 federal census, Tippah County, Miss., Southern Subdivision; house no. 841, family no. 840; microfilm roll 592, p. 122. On the eve of the Civil War William Goudy was comparatively well off for this none-too-rich county.
After the Civil War, in 1870, his real estate was valued at $1,500, his personal property $1,267. See 1870 federal census, Tippah County, Miss., Range 2, Township 5; microfilm roll 750, p. 96; data as of July 22, 1870. The war had reduced his wealth considerably, but he was not ruined. County tax records show that in 1878, still a resident of the Orizaba election district, he owned two cattle valued at $35; a horse at $60; three mules at $200; a vehicle at $35; and $400 in notes on interest-bearing loans. He undoubtedly owned other personal property not subject to tax, as well as real estate. He was still comfortably fixed and would continue so until the end of his life. Like his South Carolina ancestors, William Goudy was a respected member of his community. The History of Tippah County, Mississippi (Tulsa, 198 1), after noting that William Gowdy was a landholder in the Cotton Plant area in 1874 (p. 57), mentions that he was a Mason, belonging to Orizaba Lodge No. 149, founded in 1852 (p. 65).
His name and that of his wife appear in the 1880 federal census for Tippah County, Mississippi (dwelling 375, household 376; microfilm roll 666). He was a farmer, aged 70.
A brief death notice appeared in the Ripley newspaper: "News from Blue Mountain: We are pained to note the death of Mr. Wm. Goudy, father of our townsman Mr. W. J. Goudy, which occurred at his old homestead, about five miles south of town, on the 19th inst. In his death Tippah county lost one of her oldest and best citizens" (Southern Sentinel [Ripley, Mississippi], January 29, 1885; copy in Ripley Public Library). According to the inscription on the headstone of his grave, he died on January 20. (The Ripley public library has the most complete collection of the Ripley Advertiser and other local papers. In addition, the library has what Joel Williamson [in William Faulkner and Southern History] has described as "a vast amount of highly valuable material relating to Ripley and Tippah County.... Among these are numerous extracts made from primary sources ... and arranged in forms easily useable by the researcher." Tommy Covington, the librarian, was responsible for assembling the collection in the form in which it is found. The library was visited on December 13, 1993. It has, indeed, a good deal of material on Tippah County history, but not really "a vast amount.")
He was married to 5 Julia Ann Carnal (daughter of William S. Carnal and Jane---) before 1839 in South Carolina. 5 Julia Ann Curnal was born on Aug 1 1819 in North Carolina. She died on Apr 6 1900 in Tippah Co., Miss.. She was buried in Sand Springs Cein., Blue Mountain, Miss.. Dora Goudy Stewart in 1958 recalled that the grand- mother Goudy's parents "were Dutch," their surname Kernel. Maybe she married a Foote before marrying Mr. Goudy or maybe her father was a Foote, her mother a Kernel. The 1850 census of Tippah County, Mississippi (see 5 William Goudy) shows that she was born about 1820. As recorded by Martin and Lockhart (Cemeteries of Tippah County, Mississippi, p. 155), her grave marker says that she was born in 1819. The censuses of 1850, 1870 and 1880 mention her place of birth as North Carolina. Both of her parents were born in North Carolina as well.
She died in 1900. The Ripley Public Library does not have any newspapers for that year, so I have not seen her obituary. Kenneth King Gowdy (2000) identified her as Julia Ann Carnal and gave information about various members of the Carnal family in Tippah County. It appears that her father was William S. Carnal, her mother Jane. 5 William Goudy and 5 Julia Ann Carnal had the following children:
+14 i. 4 John Franklin Goudy CSA.
+15 ii. William Josiah (Joe) Goudy CSA.
+16 iii. Eliza Ann Goody was born about 1845 in South Carolina.4 She died after 1850.
+17 iv. Robert S. Goudy CSA.
+18 v. James K. P. Goudy.
+19 vi. Mary J. M. (Ann) Goudy.
10. Nancy Goudy died before 1846 in [South Carolina]. She was born in Abbeville Dist., S. C.. The late Nancy Goudy Cunningham, wife of James Cunningham, was mentioned in the will of her father, 6 John Goudy.
She was married to James Cunningham before 1846 in [Abbeville District, S. C.].
11. Robert M. Goudy was born on Jan 31 1825 in [Abbeville District,] S. C.. He died on Oct 17 1900 in Tippah County, Mississippi. He was buried in Clear Creek Cem., near Ripley, Tippah Co., Miss.. Clear Creek Cemetery is seven miles southeast of Ripley, Miss., 2.5 miles south of Highway 4, in SW1/4 of NW1/4 See 6 T5S, R5E, Tippah County, Mississippi. 12/18/93 Robert M. Goudy, William Goudy's younger brother, probably came to Mississippi in the mid- 1840s, evidently after the death of his father in 1846. His name appears in the 1856 Tippah County tax assessor's roll. The only taxable personal property he had was a $ 15.00 watch. He was also named in the 1861 tax list, this time with no personal property. There is a copy of the rolls in the Ripley, Miss., public library.
The 1860 federal census, taken on July 21, said Robert "Gowdy" was 33 (born about 1827) and mentioned property that evidently was not subject to tax. He was a wagoner, owning personal property worth $550, probably wagons, work mules and other tools of his trade. He had two laborers working for him. Hs post office was Ripley. See 1860 federal census, Tippah County, Mississippi, Southern Subdivision; page 97; microfilm roll 592.
He served in Company I of 2nd Mississippi Cavalry in the Civil War. Clifford Murray Goudy (born 1907), a grandson of Robert M. Goudy (son of his son William Hodges Goudy, 1858-1933), wrote a brief sketch on him and his descendants that appeared in The History of Tippah County, Mississippi, published Tulsa, Oklahoma, 1981, under the auspices of the Tippah County Historical and Genealogical Society. There is a copy in the Ripley, Miss., public library.
According to Clifford Goudy, Robert M. Goudy first (1856) married Frances Carnal (name given as "Carnell" in marriage records), then (1872) married Sara Henrietta Carnal, the widow of his late wife's brother. By his first wife, he had son William Hodges Goudy, above, and Eliza Ann Goudy (1816-1891). By his second wife, he had son Robert L. Goudy (1873-1941) and another son whose name is not mentioned by Clifford M. Goudy. R. M. Goudy was a resident of Tippah County, Mississippi, in 1856. He lived in Pannell's tax district on the southern edge of the county, in what is now Union County, in the Hickory Flat area (Tippah County, Mississippi, Censuses and Tax List for 1856, copy in Memphis Public Library).
He was married to Frances Carnal (daughter of John Carnal) in 1856 in [Tippah County, Mississippi]. Frances Carnal was born on Aug 18 1835. The date of her birth is also given as August 18, 1832, in History of Tippah County, Mississippi, p. 246. This source also supplies the information that she was born in Abbeville District, S. C. She died on Mar 19 1868 in Tippah County, Mississippi. She was buried in Jacobs Chapel Cem., Ripley, Mississippi. Jacobs Chapel Cemetery, also known as Clark's Schoolhouse Graveyard, is 4 miles southwest of Ripley, Mississippi, on Buena Vista Road, in SW1/4 Section 5.
Her maiden name is given in the sketch on her husband, Robert M. Goudy, by their grandson. See the citation of the sketch by Clifford M. Goudy under Robert M. Goudy. Robert M. Goudy and Frances Camal had the following children:
20 i. William Hodges (Billy) Goudy was born on Jan 29 1858 in Tippah County, Mississippi. He died on Nov 19 1933 in Tippah County, Mississippi. He was buried in Paynes Chapel Cemetery, Tippah Co., Miss. Paynes Chapel Cemetery is six miles east of Ripley, a half mile south of Highway 4. It is in the SW 1/4 or the NW 1/4, Section 25, Township 4S, Range 4E. GOWDY, BILLIE died Sunday, age 75 / father of Mrs. Arthur Smith, Mrs. Richard Hurt, Mrs. Robert Morton, Robert Gowdy of Akron, Ohio, Carl Gowdy of Akron, Ohio, Clifford Gowdy (Ripley Sentinel, November 23, 1933, cited in Gowdy 2000).
+21 ii. Anna Liza [Elizabeth, Annie E.] Goudy.
He was married to Sara Henrietta Carnal on Nov 18 1872 in Tippah County, Mississippi. Robert M. Goudy and Sara Henrietta Camal had the following children:
22 i. Robert L (Bob) Goudy was born in 1873. He died on Dec 12 1941
13. Jane Goudy was born about 1825 in Abbeville Dist., S. C.. She died after 1861. 12/18/93 Jane Goudy may have come to Mississippi with her brother Robert after their father died. In 1860, she and an elderly Jane Goudy, presumably her mother, lived next to 5 William Goudy. She was 35, a weaver born in South Carolina, with personal property valued at $450. See 1860 federal census, Tippah County, Southern Subdivision, house no. 942, family no. 841; microfilm roll 592, p. 123. There was a Jane "Gowdy," either this one or her mother, on the 1861 Tippah County assessor's roll. She had $500 lent out at interest and owed tax of $1.00 on this asset. A copy of the tax roll is in the Ripley, Miss., public library. One Jane Gowdy married W. C. Webber on January 1, 1861 (Tippah County Mississippi Marriage Records 1843-1925, p. 57, citing Book 1, page 232).
She was married to W. C. Webber on Jan 1861 in Tippah County, Miss.
14. 4 John Franklin Goudy CSA was born on Nov 10 1839 in [Abbeville Dist.,] S.C.. The 1850 Tippah County, Miss., census shows him aged 11 on October 7, 1850, when census data were collected. Family records show his date of birth as November 10, 1839, so he was actually 10 at the time the census was taken. He served in the military between 1861 and 1865 in the Civil War (Confederate Army). He died on Apr 11 1926 in Memphis, Shelby, Tenn. He was buried on Apr 12 1926 in Edmondson Cemetery, De Soto Co., Miss.. The grave of John Franklin Goudy in the Edmondson Cemetery is unmarked, and a records mix-up made it impossible for the family to place a stone on the grave when members wanted to do so. It was probably near his wife's grave, however. He was christened in Methodist Church. 12/13/93 There are several photos of John Franklin Goudy in the family archives, dating from the 1890s to the 1920s. One appears here.
John Franklin Goudy was born in South Carolina in 1839 and died in Memphis, Tennessee, in 1926, aged 86. His family moved to Tippah County, Mississippi, when he was a child of seven or eight, and he grew up on a farm in the Orizaba area (near today's village of Cotton Plant, about five miles south of Blue Mountain). Family recollections of him that have been passed down are few, and the most solid information about him comes from official records, including his Confederate military service record, censuses and tax records. His daughter, Dora Goudy (Stewart) of Hickory Flat and, later, Horn Lake, Mississippi, in 1958 passed on to me some information about her father and mother. Most importantly, she gave me information from the Goudy family bible, including full names and birth dates of John Goudy, his wife Mary Frances Tucker, and their children. (1999: Mrs. Stewart is now deceased.)
The marriage of John Goudy and M. F. [Mary Frances] Tucker in Tippah County was recorded January 10, 1861 (Tippah County Marriage Records, Book 1, page 242); he would have been 21, his wife 19. In the same year the name of John "Gowdy" appears on the 1861 Tippah County assessor's roll. He had no property that was taxable and was thus subject only to the poll tax. As shown in the official service record, 21 -year-old John Franklin Goudy of Tippah County, Mississippi, enlisted in Captain Francis A. Wolff's company of Mississippi Volunteers at Grenada on October 27, 1861, for one year's service. (For those who are interested in tracing his military career in detail: his company became Company F, 3rd Battalion Mississippi Infantry, in November. The battalion was augmented in April, 1862, and became the 33rd Regiment Mississippi Infantry. The regiment was renumbered in the fall, becoming the 45th Regiment Mississippi Infantry; it was given that number in the reports on Perryville, in October, although not officially so designated until November. In April, 1864, it resumed its original designation of 3rd Battalion Mississippi Infantry.)
The 3rd Mississippi Battalion saw its first major action at the Battle of Shiloh, Tennessee, on April 6-7, 1862. Commanded by Major A. B. Hardcastle, it was in Brigadier General Sterling A. M. Woods Third Brigade (Brigadier General Thomas C. Hindman's division; Major General William J. Hardee's Corps; General Albert Sidney Johnston's Army of Mississippi). Hardee's Third Corps of three brigades, augmented by Gladden's brigade from Bragg's Second Corps, was placed in the front line by General Johnston. It covered the three miles from Owl Creek to Lick Creek, with Hindman's division in the center flanked on the left by Cleburne's brigade, on the right by Gladden's. Major Hardeastle's small battalion was the first Confederate unit engaged in the battle on the morning of April 6.
Still believing that Johnston's movement was a reconnaissance in force rather than designed to engage in a major battle, the federal commanders were apprehensive about the presence of so many of the enemy in their vicinity. On the morning of April 6, "General [Benjamin M.] Prentiss [threw] forward Colonel [David] Moore, with the 21 st Missouri regiment [Union], on the Corinth road. Moore ... encountered Hardees skirmish-line under Major Hardcastle, and, thinking it an outpost, assailed it vigorously. Thus really the Federals began the fight. The struggle was brief, but spirited .... Hindrnan's whole division moved on, following the ridge and drilling to the right,and drove in the grand guards and outposts until they struck Prentiss's camps. Into these they burst, overthrowing all before them." (This is the account of the start of the battle that was given by Colonel William Preston Johnston in "Albert Sidney Johnston at Shiloh," in Battles and Leaders of the Civil War [originally published in the 1880s; reprint New York: Castle Books, 1956], I, 558.)
Johnston's main battle plan progressed in good order following this successful first assault. The basic plan was to turn the left flank of the federal forces (the side toward the Tennessee River), cut off his line of retreat to the river and throw him back onto Owl Creek, where he would have to surrender. Hindman's division was the pivot on which the turning movement was made by Johnston's Confederates. Cleburne's brigade at the left of Hindman's line was temporarily repelled by W. T. Sherman's forces in its front, and the federal forces in front of Hindman's center and right, mainly from Illinois, were reinforced. The Confederates charged. "Wood's brigade, of Hindman's division, joined this charge on the right. As they hesitated at the crest of a hill, General Johnston came to the front and urged them to the attack. They rushed forward with the inspiring 'rebel yell,' and with [A. P.] Stewart's brigade enveloped the Illinois troops. In ten minutes the latter melted away under the fire, and were forced from the field" (ibid., pp. 559-561). The federals on the center and left of the Confederate lines retreated, but dug in after a time. Resistance was particularly stubborn at a sunken road, a natural fortification that came to be called the Hornets' Nest. The assault on this federal position continued for five hours; Colonel Johnston said that "Hindman's brigades, which earlier had swept everything before them, were reduced to fragments, and paralyzed for the remainder of the day" (ibid., p. 563). The federal center was finally enveloped, and the defenders of the sunken road, commanded by Benjamin Prentiss, surrendered late in the afternoon.
With Chalmers's and Jackson's brigades near the river, still attacking, and the federal army driven far back all along the line, it appeared late in the afternoon that the battle was won. However, Johnston had been killed in battle at about 2:30 in the afternoon, at a point a little behind Hindman's division, and had been replaced in command by P. G. T. Beauregard, an inferior general. Beauregard pulled the army back to regroup before full advantage was taken of the gains made that day. His timidity, or bad judgment, threw away the victory of April 6 which had been won at such great cost. During the night, Grant's army was reinforced. The Confederates fought well again the next day but had lost the initiative. In the afternoon, Beauregard directed an orderly withdrawal from the battlefield. The brigade to which the 3rd Mississippi Battalion was assigned had lost 745 men during the two days' fighting, far above the battle average of one casualty to four men engaged.
When the Confederate army was reorganized, shortly after the battle of Shiloh, the survivors of the hard-hit 3rd Mississippi Battalion were combined with other units to form the new 33rd Regiment of Mississippi Infantry. Small actions in North Mississippi occurred in the next few months.
Goudy's next major combat was at Perryville, Kentucky, in October, 1862. The regiment, now the 45th Regiment of Mississippi Infantry, was a part of Wood!s brigade (now designated the Fourth Brigade; Simon B. Buckner's Division; W. J. Hardee's Corps; army commanded by Braxton Bragg). The family was well represented at Perryville. In addition to John F. Goudy, his brother-in-law Moses Tucker was present; his neighbor Thomas W. Vaughan, whose son would marry Goudy's daughter Ann, was present and seriously wounded in the fighting; and Walter C. Childress, Vaughan's brother-in-law, was there. All of them had also been at Shiloh.
Wood's brigade was heavily engaged in the bloody, but inconclusive, battle near Perryville; the general was wounded and three of his staff officers were killed in the battle. (See Joseph Wheeler, "Bragg's Invasion of Kentucky," ibid., III, 1-26, esp. pp. 16-17, for a brief account of the battle.) Goudy once again was unhurt. Bragg continued campaigning in Kentucky for a time, to no particular effect. (See Colonel David Urquhart, C. S. A., "Bragg's Advance and Retreat," in ibid., pp. 600-608.)
The 45th Mississippi, commanded by Lt. Col. Charlton (still in Wood's Fourth Brigade of the division commanded by Major General Patrick R. Clebume's, Hardee's Corps, Bragg's Army of Tennessee), was next heavily engaged at Murfreesboro (Stone's River), Tennessee, December 31, 1862 - January 2, 1863. In the attack that began at daybreak on the thirty-first, Cleburne's division charged the Union brigades of Richard W. Johnson and Jeff C. Davis of McCook's right wing, driving them northwest. Before the day's fighting ended, the Confederates had advanced two miles, almost to the Nashville Turnpike. John Franklin Goudy, now a corporal, was wounded slightly in the hip this day, according to his official service record. He was probably not involved in the fighting on January 2, when the battle was resumed. Losses were heavy at Murfreesboro, comparable to those at Shiloh, when a quarter of those engaged were killed, wounded or captured. The Confederates had about 9,000 casualties, as did the Union forces. The battle was inconclusive, as were most of those fought by General Bragg. It is described in G. C. Kniffin, Lt. Col., U. S. V., "The Battle of Stone's River," ibid., III, 613-632.
After Murfreesboro, the 45th was commanded by Colonel Mark Perrin Lowry of Tippah County. Lowry was Corporal Goudy's neighbor and a family friend. The regiment was still part of S. A. M. Wood's brigade (Cleburne's division; D. H. Mll's corps, formerly commanded by W. J. Hardee; Bragg's Army of Tennessee). Hill upon taking command of the corps in July sent Wood's brigade to guard the Tennessee River crossing at Harrison, Tennessee, above Chattanooga. When Bragg decided to abandon Chattanooga in early September, Cleburne's whole division moved to the Lafayette, Georgia, area, to guard the passes at Pigeon Mountain. The regiment was there when movements began that culminated in the great battle along Chickamauga Creek, September 18 - 20, 1863. It is well described in D. H. Ell, Lt. Gen., C. S. A., "Chickamauga -- The Great Battle of the West," ibid., pp. 638-662.
Cleburne's division was brought into the fighting at Chickamauga late on September 19, first being engaged on the road west from Jay's Sawmill, on the Confederate right. Wood's brigade was in the front of Cleburne's division in the heavy fighting of the morning of Sunday, September 20. As Hill described its actions, "Wood's ... brigade had almost reached Poe's house (the burning house) on the Chattanooga road, when he was subjected to a heavy enfilading and direct fire, and driven back with great loss." Cleburne retreated some 400 yards after the repulse in front of the strong Union fortifications held by the men of General George H. Thomas. Hill continued, 'The fierce fight on our right lasted until 10:30 A.M. It was an unequal contest of small divisions against four full ones behind fortifications. Surely there were never nobler leaders than Breckenridge and Cleburne, and surely there were never nobler troops. . . " (ibid., p. 656). The heavy attack, though repulsed, led General Rosecrans, commanding all of the Union forces present, to send troops to reinforce Thomas. This decision, based on a misapprehension of Confederate strength, in turn opened the way for Longstreet, on Hill's left, to launch attacks which resulted in the defeat of Rosecrans's army, except for the troops under Thomas, the "Rock of Chickamauga." Thus, the determined attack of Wood's understrength brigade and Cleburne's division in the morning had a great deal to do with the eventual Confederate victory. To the dismay of many Confederates, Bragg in effect threw away the Confederate victory by failing to pursue Rosecrans's defeated army on September 21. Over 130,000 men were present on the battleground at Chickamauga and, as at Shiloh and Perryville, about a quarter of them were killed, wounded or captured.
Corporal John F. Goudy's precise role in the battle cannot be determined, of course. His rank was too low for him to have special mention. No doubt he did what he had done before, at Shiloh, Perryville, Murfreesboro, and many smaller actions: he followed orders, did not shirk his duty and contributed to the already excellent reputation of his regiment, brigade and division. He appears to have made it through the fight unharmed, because his name does not appear in the hospital records.
Bragg's army was defeated by Grant at Chattanooga late in November, thanks, in part at least, to Bragg's decision to detach Longstred's corps and Wheeler's cavalry, 20,000 men in all, to move against Burnside at Knoxville. Grant's masterful assault on Missionary Ridge and Lookout Mountain late in November ended the Confederate siege of Chattanooga. The 45th Mississippi, commanded by Colonel A. B. Hardcastle, was in its old brigade. The brigade was now commanded by Mark P. Lowry, advanced to brigadier general in the place of S. A. M. Wood. The details of its participation in the battles have not been researched, though the Chattanooga campaign is well described from the Union perspective by U. S. Grant in "Chattanooga," ibid., pp. 679-71 1. The federal losses came to about 6,000 of the 60,000 engaged; Confederate losses were similar, although the number engaged in defense of the high ground near Chattanooga was somewhat smaller. However, it was a serious strategic defeat for Bragg, and the Confederates could not afford the loss of men and material.
The positive upshot of this defeat was that Bragg, Jefferson Davis's prize general in the western theatre, was finally relieved of his command. replaced (in quick succession) by Hardee, Polk and Joseph E. Johnston. Johnston commanded the army in the next phase, the Atlanta campaign of 1864.
By the spring of 1864, Goudys regiment was so reduced in numbers that the fiction that it was really a regiment was abandoned. It returned to its old designation of 3rd Battalion of Mississippi Infantry and as such participated in Johnston's campaign of defense and retreat before Atlanta. It continued in Lowry's brigade. On May 27, 1864, John F. Goudy was wounded a second time, this time in the fighting before Atlanta, at Dallas (New Hope Church), Georgia. He received a gunshot wound in the right hand, losing his middle finger. His case was reviewed by a medical examining board at Dalton, Georgia, and on May 30, 1864, he was given a 60-day furlough and allowed to return to his home in Mississippi.
The service records do not include any additional information about his participation in the war. Although the official record is silent on the matter, he was not required to return to his regiment in Georgia. Instead, became a member of Major General Nathan Bedford Forrest's cavalry. After the Chattanooga campaign, when Forrest had quarreled with General Bragg, this most brilliant of cavalry commanders in the war was given an independent command and thereafter operated in North Mississippi and West Tennessee, right in John F. Goudy's neighborhood. Records reflecting his service in Forrest's cavalry have not been found, but many such records were lost. He was known to his friends and neighbors as one who fought with Forrest. Since the only time he could have done so was after his injury in Georgia, it must be assumed that he signed up after getting back to Mississippi in June, 1864.
Forrest's presence in the neighborhood must have been a temptation to him. Coming, as he did, from Cleburne's division ("by common consent, Federal and Confederate, the hardest-hitting" division in its army, according to Shelby Foote [The Civil War, III, 659]), he must have admired the cavalry commander,who had left Bragg, a commander generally despised by his men. Arriving back in Tippah County at just the time Forrest humiliated the federals at Brice's Crossroads, not many miles southeast of Goudy's farm, he probably hastened to sign up as soon as the stump of his finger was healed enough to not get in the way of his work. He may have been with Forrest in the battle of Tupelo, July 14; the raid on Memphis, August 21; the raid north of the Tennessee River into North Alabama and Middle Tennessee, September and October, 1864. Surely he was with Forrest when the cavalrymen joined Hood in his move against Franklin and Nashville in December. His old division commander, Pat Cleburne, was killed at Franklin, as Hood's impetuousness practically destroyed what was left of the army withdrawn from Georgia after the fall of Atlanta.
Forrest's troopers returned to Murfreesboro in the course of the Nashville campaign, then acted as a rear guard when Hood retreated from Tennessee. Returning to Alabama, his cavalrymen were never again involved in really significant combat. They were surrendered at Selma, Alabama, in April, 1865. Goudy may have been with him at the surrender.
It appears that John F. Goudy served from the beginning to the end of the War Between the States. He was in some of the bloodiest fighting of the war, in Tennessee, Kentucky, Georgia, probably Alabama, and, no doubt, Mississippi. He was wounded at least twice. He rose to the rank of corporal, as reflected in the official record.
The information on John F. Goudy's military service is from the Compiled Military Service Records, National Archives and Records Service (file: "Gowdy, John F./ F / 3 Bat Mississippi Inf CSA") and from his obituary.
No one I talked with in the family passed on to me anything that John Franklin Goudy may have said about his service in the war, although he lived for more than sixty years after it ended. It was clearly important to him -- it had to be -- he named the daughter who was born in 1865 Ann Elizabeth Tennessee and he named a son, born in 1870, after General Pat Cleburne. The family had a high regard for and was close to Brigadier General Mark Perrin Lowry, founder of the Baptist college at Blue Mountain, Mississippi (founded 1873 as the Blue Mountain Female Institute, now Blue Mountain College), until General Lowry died in 1885. John Goudy's brother, William Joseph 'Joe' Goudy, was buried next to General Lowry in the Blue Mountain graveyard.
The John F. Goudy family lived in Tippah County in 1870, where he was a farmer. According to the census of that year, he owned real estate worth $450 and personal property worth $375 (1870 Tippah County census, Range 2, Township 5; data as of July 5, 1870; microfilm roll 750, page 96). His branch of the family moved sixty miles west to the richer country of Tate County, Mississippi, in the 1870s, where he farmed near Arkabutla. (It is possible that he was the "J. H. Goudy" in the 1875 Tate County tax assessor's roll of personal property, owning only one thing subject to tax: a horse valued at $40.00 [microfilm copy of the tax roll in the Ripley, Miss., public library]. He and his wife were living in the Arkabutla precinct when the federal census was taken on June 23, 1880. His children ranged in age from one (Dora) to eighteen (Will). He was a farmer, Mary Frances a housewife (1880 federal census, Tate County, Miss.; Taviorsville, Evansville and Arkabutia Precincts, page 48; microfilm roll 665).
Sometime later, perhaps in old age, he moved to the Memphis area and lived with his daughter Lizzie and son-in-law Algie Vaughan. He suffered from an illness that caused him to lose both arms in old age; Jesse Vaughn and Agnes Vaughan told me that their grandfather had had cancer and lost his arms as a result. When he died in 1926, the Memphis Commercial Appeal (April 12, 1926, p. 7) characterized him as one of Forrest's "troopers."
He was married to 4 Mary Frances Tucker (daughter of 5 George Tucker and 5 Frances ---- ) on Jan 10 1861 in Tippah County, Miss.
4 Mary Frances Tucker was born in 1841 in Alabama. The 1850 census shows her aged eight, suggesting a birth date in 1842. Her grave marker gives her year of birth as 1841. She died on Dec 26 1909 in Whitehaven, Shelby, Tenn.. Grave marker in Edmondson Cemetery appears to give date of November 26,1909. A family source gives date of December 26, 1909, for the death of Mary Frances Tucker Goudy, as does her published obituary. She was buried in Edmondson Cemetery, De Soto Co.. Miss.. Mary Frances Tucker Goudy's grave is marked by a headstone (unlike those of others of her generation in the Vaughan family buried in Edmondson Cemetery). Her husband's grave is probably nearby. Cemetery was visited by Gerald Pierce in October, 1992. 12/18/93 There are several photographs of Mary Frances Tucker, none of them very good, when she was advanced in years. One is given here
4 Mary Frances Tucker was born in Alabama into a middle-class farm family. Her mother died when she was a young girl, just before or after the family moved to Tippah County, Mississippi. She was brought up by her father and step mother on their farm near Orizaba. (The community has practically disappeared now. It was near Cotton Plant, a few miles south of Blue Mountain.) At the age of nineteen she married John Franklin Goudy, the son of a neighboring farmer who was somewhat better off than her own father. No doubt the match was considered a good one for her, and it lasted for nearly fifty years, until her death. They had seven children.
There was passed down to her great-granddaughter, Janis Vaughn, a copy of her obituary. The clipping from a newspaper published early in 1910, perhaps one from Ripley or New Albany, reads as follows:
"Mrs. M. F. Goudy, wife of our friend and neighbor, Mr. J. F. Goudy, spent her last Christmas on earth at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Lizzie Vaughn of Whitehaven, Tenn., the 25th day of December, 1909. Notwithstanding that she had been an invalid for some two years, she enjoyed the day and felt better than for some days before. The next day December 26th the enemy of life, the dread monster death, claimed her for his victim and time was with her no more. She was 68 years old, was married to Mr. J. F. Goudy in 1861. She made him a good wife, was a kind and indulgent mother, a most excellent neighbor; had a kind word for everybody, took a conservative view of all questions. She was raised by Primitive Baptist parentage, made a profession of religion some years ago and became a member of the Methodist church at Sand Springs near Blue Mountain. She lived a consistent Christian life and died triumphant in the faith, and was buried at Edmondson church, Whitehaven, Tenn. She leaves her husband, an ex-Confederate Veteran, and six children to mourn her death -- four boys, Will and Cliff of Garnett, Ark., Rob and Pat of Hickory Flat; also two daughters, Mrs. Dora Stewart of Hickory Flat, and Mrs. Lizzie Vaughn of Whitehaven, Tenn., besides a host of true friends....
"A friend, / J.J.W. / Hickory Flat 1- 17
4 John Franklin Goudy CSA and 4 Mary Frances Tucker had the following children:
23. i. William J. B. (Will) Goudy was born on Mar 5 1862 in Tippah County, Mississippi. He died after 1926 in [prob. Garnett, Arkansas]. 8/8/93 Will Goudy was living in Garnett, Arkansas, in 1909, when his mother died, according to her obituary. He was still alive when his father died in 1926, but where he lived was not mentioned in the death notice., He was erroneously referred to as "J. W." in the notice.
24. ii. 3 Ann Elizabeth Tennessee Goudy.
25. iii. Robert Caswell (Rob) Goudy was born on Apr 19 1867 in Mississippi. He died in 1946 in [Mississippi]. The last known residence of Rob Goudy was Hickory Flat, Mississippi. He may have died there. 8/8/93
He was living in Hickory Flat, Mississippi, at the time his mother died in 1909, according to her obituary. He was named as one of the survivors in the death notice on his father, 1926. From some source I have it that he died in 1946. Agnes Vaughan (Williams) knew him as "Uncle Bob."
26. iv. John Franklin Goudy II was born on Mar 11 1869 in Tippah County, Mississippi. He died on May 15 1869 in Tippah County, Mississippi. He was buried in Sand Springs Cem., Blue Mountain, Miss..
27. v. George Pat Cleburne Goudy was born on Mar 29 1870 in Mississippi. He died after 1926 in [Mississippi]. His last reported place of residence was Hickory Flat, Mississippi. He may have died there. This son of John Franklin Goudy was named for the Irish-born Confederate brigadier who commanded the Mississippi unit in which the father served. He was living in Hickory Flat, Mississippi, when his mother died in 1909, according to her obituary. He was mentioned in his father's death notice in 1926 (referred to as "T. C.") but where he lived then was not mentioned. 8/8/93
28. vi. Leander Clifton (Cliff) Goudy was born on Feb 18 1872 in Mississippi. He died after 1926 in [Arkansas]. 8/8/93 There is a picture of Cliff Goudy in the family archives.
He was living in Garnett, Arkansas, in.1909 when his mother died, according to her obituary. He was still living in 1926 when his father died, but where he lived was not mentioned in the obituary.
Agnes Vaughan (Williams) wrote in 1995 that "Cliff Goudy seemed to be a very prosperous man. While I was at S. M. U. [about 1920] one of his sons, who was probably employed in Dallas, came out to the college to visit a student. I met him."
+29 vii. Dora Melissa Goudy.
15. William Josiah (Joe) Goudy CSA was born on Feb 29 1840 in Greenville (Greenwood?], S.C.. He served in the military between 1861 and 1865 in the Civil War (Confederate Army). He died on May 7 1916 in Tippah County Mississippi. He was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss.. 12113/93 John Franklin Goudy's younger brother, William Josiah Goudy, known as "Joe," was born in South Carolina and came to Mississippi with his family as a child of six or seven. He was a farmer, as his father was. His name was listed in the 1861 tax assessor's roll, without personal property. He was over 21 and had to pay the poll tax.
At the outbreak of the Civil War, he enlisted in the Confederate army at Orizaba, Mississippi (in Tippah County, south of Blue Mountain) His enlistment was dated July 31, 1861. His unit was Captain Robert J. Hill's company of the 2nd regiment, 1st Brigade, Mississippi Volunteers, a state unit. The regiment was commanded by Colonel William Clark Falkner of Ripley (1826-1889). (Falkner, already a minor hero for his exploits at First Manassas in Virginia, later gained fame as the author of The White Rose of Memphis, a play on the War Between the States and another romantic novel. He was a leading figure in the building of the Mississippi Central Railroad and was William Faulkner's great-grandfather. He was the model for the "Old Colonel" in Faulkner's novels.) The unit was transferred to Confederate service on September 19, 1861, at Iuka, Mississippi, and was redesignated the 23rd Mississippi Infantry on November 19. The regiment was also known as the 3rd Regiment Mississippi Infantry at times during the war. Goudy was a private in Company B.
On February 16, 1862, Goudys regiment was captured at the surrender of Fort Donelson, Tennessee. He was a prisoner of war at Camp Douglas, near Chicago, and there contracted typhoid fever. He survived the fever and was able to join his regiment when it was sent south to Vicksburg to be exchanged, leaving Camp Douglas on September 3. On September 19, 1862, his term of enlistment having expired, he re-enlisted at Jackson, Mississippi, for another two years. His unit was one of those that defended Vicksburg in 1863. The regiment, commanded by Colonel J. M. Wells, was in Lloyd Tilghman's brigade, W. W. Loring's 1st Division. It escaped capture when Vicksburg fell in July, 1863, fought in Tennessee, and was part of Polk's Army of Mississippi in the 1864 Atlanta campaign. His name appeared on his company's muster roll at least as late as August, 1864, but no further trace of him has been found. The rolls which might have accounted for his subsequent service were either not prepared or have not been preserved.
William Goudy returned to Tippah County after the war and and in 1866 married Mary Ann Devenport (or Davenport) of Blue Mountain. He lived near Blue Mountain and was a farmer. According to information in the 1870 census, W. J. Goudy lived in Range 2, Township 5 of Tippah County. He was 30, his wife 31. Their two children were M. J. A., a girl aged 3; and J. E., a girl aged ten months (1870 federal census, Tippah County, Miss.; microfilm roll 750, page 96).
Ten years later (1880 federal census, Tippah County, Miss., Supervisor's District 3, household 398; microfilm roll 666), Joe Goudy and his wife May [Mary] were both shown as aged 40 years. Their children were Martha J., 12; Joe Emma 11; William, 8; Tommie (a girl), 5; and Robert, 3. Martha, Emma and William were all in school in 1879-80. Martha J. may have been the "Alice" Goudy (1867-1914) who married Lee Godwin September 14,1890. Emma (1868-1937) married J. A. "Eck" Jernigan October 11, 1894. Both were buried in the Blue Mountain cemetery near their parents. The third child, William, was buried under a headstone identifying him as "Billie." He lived only from 1873 to 1891. Tommie Goudy's was not found. Robert Franklin Goudy, 1877-1948, was also buried at Blue Mountain. Charley Goudy was born 1880 after the census was taken and died in 1881. Lee Goudy was born in 1883 and died in 1921. Both Charley and Lee are identified as children of W. J. and Mary Goudy. J. Frank Goudy (1884 - 1921), also buried at Blue Mountain, may also have been a child of Joe and Mary Goudy.
Joe Goudy's wife died in 1915, and he died in 1916 at the age of 76. Their graves at Blue Mountain adjoin that of General Mark Perrin Lowry, under whom William served.
It may be of interest to recall that there was a vague idea in the family that there was a connection between the Goudys and the Lowrys; the source was one who knew of Mark Perrin Lowry for his connection with Blue Mountain College (which he founded and directed until his death in 1885) but was unaware that he was a Confederate brigadier. It is possible that the only connection was that some of the Goudys served in Lowry's command or that they knew him as a neighbor, before or after the war. However, it is noted that the old Ninety Six District of South Carolina, around today's Greenwood, had many people with the names "Perrin" and "Lowry." It is more likely that the Goudys knew General Lowry's paternal (Lowry) ancestors or his maternal (Perrin) ancestors in South Carolina, where they were neighbors. It is also possible that Goudys had married into the Perrin or Lowry families. I know too little on the matter to do anything more than to take note of the possibilities.
He was married to Mary Ann Devenport on Nov 22 1866 in Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss.. Mary Ann Devenport was born on Nov 15 1839 in South Carolina. The 1870 Tippah County census gives her place of birth as South Carolina. She died on Feb 25 1915 in Tippah County, Mississippi. She was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss.. 12/13/93 The name of William J. Goudy's wife is from a UDC record supplied by a granddaughter, Betty Jo Godwin Mitchell. There is a notice of her death on February 25, 1915, in the Southern Sentinel (Ripley, Mississippi), March 4, 1915: "News from Blue Mountain: Mrs. Joe Gowdy, one of the oldest and most highly respected ladies of our town, died very suddenly of heart failure on Thursday night, February 25. Mrs. Gowdy leaves a husband, Mr. Joe Gowdy, Sr., and three children and a great host of friends who knew her to love her." William Josiah (Joe) Goudy CSA and Mary Ann Devenport had the following children:
30 i. Martha J. Goudy was born about 1868 in Tippah Co.,
31 ii. Joe Emma Goudy was born about 1869 in Tippah Co., Miss..
32 iii. William (Billy) Goudy was born on Feb 18 1872 in, [Tippah County, Miss.]. He died on Dec 31 1891 in Tippah Co., Miss..
33 iv. Tommie Goudy was born about 1875 in Tippah Co., Miss..
34 v. Robert Franklin Goudy was born on Jun 4 1877 in Tippah Co., Miss.. He (or she) died on Nov 10 1948 in [Tippah County, Miss.]. . He (or she) was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss..
35 vi. Charley Goudy was born on Aug 17 1880 in Tippah Co., Miss.. He died on Jul 11 1881 in Tippah Co., Miss.. He was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss..
36 vii. Lee Goudy was born on Feb 10 1883 in Tippah Co., Miss.. He died on Feb 1 1912 in [Tippah County, Miss.]. He was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss..
17. Robert S. Goudy CSA was born on Mar 18 1847 in South Carolina. He died on Jun 16 1920 in Tippah County, Mississippi. He was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss.. 12/13/93 There is a memorial marker in Clear Creek Cemetery, near Ripley, Mississippi, that says "Robert Goudy / Co. "I" / 2nd Miss. Cav. / CSA." No dates are given. However, this is the grave of Robert M. Goudy [January 31, 1825 - October 17, 1900]. Robert S. Goudy is buried in Blue Mountain, Mississippi, cemetery, near his brothers William Josiah Goudy and James P. Goudy and sister Mary Ann Goudy. His headstone gives the dates of birth and death
He was married to N. S. Owen on Nov 26 1867 in Tippah County, Mississippi. N. S. Owen was born on Mar 26 1946. She died on Feb 6 1934 in Tippah County, Mississippi. She was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss..
18. James K- P. Goudy was born on Nov 20 1848 in Mississippi. He died on Mar 1 1915 in Tippah County, Mississippi. He was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss..12/13/93 He is shown as James P. Goudy in some records and as James K. Goudy on his tombstone. His name was probably James Knox Polk Goudy, since he was born just as Polk was finishing his term in office. His name was listed as James K. P. Goudy in the 1860 census, when he was 11 years old (1860 federal census, Tippah County, Miss., Southern Subdivision; house no. 841, family no. 840; microfilm roll 592, p. 122).
The 1880 federal census (Tippah County, Mississippi, Supervisor's District 3, household 412; microfilm roll 666) lists him as a farmer, aged 31. His wife Rachel was 33. They had five children: William, 7; Archie, 5; Etta, 3; Lonnie, 2; and Vergie, 3 months (born April. 1880) Archie was no doubt Arch[ibald] Evander Goudy (1874-1952), who was buried in the Blue Mountain Cemetery. Lonnie may have been Robert Bruce Goudy (1878-1956), also buried at Blue Mountain.
His daughter Etta (Etta Lee Goudy Howell) wrote a letter about the death of her father, whom she referred to as "J. K. Goudy." She was then living in Gorman, Eastland County, Texas, having moved there 14 years before the date of her letter. It tells nothing of her father. The letter was to the editor of the Southern Sentinel of Ripley, Miss., and was published in the issue of March 18, 1915.
Daughter Etta married Samuel Howell December 29, 1898, and Vergie (or Virgie) married R. P. Jones May 22, 1902 (Tippah County Mississippi Marriage Records 1843-1925, p. 57). (He probably was the Goudy who was buried at Blue Mountain under a stone recorded by the compilers of the Tippah County and cemetery census as just "Goudy," with dates July 20, 1848, to March 1, 1950. The inscription on this stone was probably wrong or difficult to read.)
He was married to Rachel Ann Jernigan in 1871 in Tippah County, Mississippi. Rachel Ann Jernigan was born on Dec 24 1844. She died on Dec 13 1915 in Tippah County, Mississippi. She was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss..12/14/93 Rachel Ann Jernigan was the daughter of John H. Jernigan and Joanna Terry of Richmond County, N. C. (History of Tippah County, Mississippi [Tulsa, 1981], p. 430). James K. P. Goudy and Rachel Ann Jernigan had the following children:
37 i. William (Billie) Goudy was born on Feb 18
1872 in [Tippah County, Mississippi]. He died on Dec 31 1891 in [Tippah County,
38 ii. Arch Evander Goudy.
39 iii. Etta Lee Goudy.
40 iv. Lonnie Goudy was born about 1878 in [Tippah County, Mississippi].
41 v. Vergie Goudy.
19. Mary J. M. (Ann) Goudy was born on Apr 10 1850 in Mississippi. The census records suggest that she was born in 1852 or 1853, while the tombstone gives this birthdate. She died on Feb 12 1912 in Tippah County, Mississippi. She was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss..12/18/93 The 1860 census (see the citation under 5 William Goudy) gives her name as Mary J. M. Goudy, her age 8. She married Henry M. Robertson on November 26, 1874 (Tippah County marriage records, book 1, page 260). When she died in 1912, the name Mary Ann was given on her headstone. I presume that she was actually named Mary Jane, but she may have preferred Mary Ann. The year of birth of M. J. Goudy, as derived from the census record, is 1852 or 1853.
To avoid confusion, it is noted that there is a Jane Goudy buried at Pine Grove Box's Cemetery (3 miles northeast of Dumas, Tippah County, Mississippi, at Pine Grove). She was born December 22, 1855, and died December 24,1946. An obituary published in the Memphis Commercial Appeal, December 25, 1946, reveals that this was Mandy Jane Box, widow of R. L. Goudy of Ripley, Miss. She died at her home at 216 Cossitt Place, Memphis. Her body was sent to Ripley the same day for burial. R L. Goudy may have been the Robert L. Goudy (1873-1941) who was a son of Robert M. Goudy, 5 William Goudy's brother.
Henry Matthew Robertson was born on Mar 4 1849. He died on Sep 24 1898 in Tippah County, Mississippi. He was buried in Blue Mountain Cemetery, Blue Mountain, Ripley Co., Miss..
21. Anna Liza [Elizabeth, Annie E.] Goudy was born on Nov 4 1861 in Tippah County, Mississippi. She died on Jul 28 1891 in [Tippah County, Mississippi]. She was buried in Paynes Chapel Cemetery, Tippah Co., Miss.. Paynes Chapel Cemetery is six miles east of Ripley, a half mile south of highway 4. It is in the SW 1/4 or the NW 1/4, Section 25, Township 4S, Range 4E. 12/13/93 The record of her marriage to T. F. Smith gives her name as A. E. Gowdy. It appears in Book 1, page 338, of the Tippah County marriage records, as cited in the index, page 57. She died as a young woman and was buried in Paynes Chapel Cemetery.
She was married to T. F. (Tom) Smith on Jan 10 1878 in Tippah County, Mississippi.
24. 3 Ann Elizabeth Tennessee Goudy was born on Nov 7 1865 in [Tippah County], Miss.. She died on May 27 1953 in Memphis, Shelby, Tenn.. She was christened in Methodist Church. She was buried in Edmondson Cemetery, De Soto Co., Miss.. 8/7/93 There are several photos of her in the family archives. Her wedding picture, badly damaged, is given here. 3 Ann Elizabeth Tennessee Goudy's parents lived in Tippah County, Mississippi, when she was born in 1865. At the age of 18, then living in Tate County, near Arkabutla, she married a young carpenter, 3 Levi Algernon ("Algia" or "Algie") Vaughan, whose father had been in campaigns with her father during the Confederate War.
Shortly after their marriage, the young couple moved to Whitehaven, Tennessee, just over the line from De Soto County, Mississippi. She bore eight children, two of whom died in infancy or childhood. The others all lived to adulthood. One, 2 Jesse W. Vaughn (1899 - 1993), is in the direct line of this genealogical listing.
"Miss Lizzie" Vaughan, as she was known, was a faithful Methodist and a member of the Women's Christian Temperance Union. She did not tolerate alcohol in her house and strongly disapproved of bad language. Her granddaughter Janis Vaughn (Pierce) remembers her fondly.
Her obituary appeared in the Memphis Commercial Appeal, May 29, 1953:
"Mrs. Levi Algia Vaughan "I O-Day Illness Fatal to Longtime Memphian "Mrs. Annie Elizabeth Gowdy [Goudyl Vaughan, the wife of Levi Algia Vaughan, died at 7: 1 5 last night at her home at 279 Alexander after a 10-day illness. She was 88.
"born in Arkabutla [sic; probably Tippah County], Miss., Mrs. Vaughan lived in Memphis for 65 years. She was a member of St. Lukes Methodist Church.
"She leaves her husband; two daughters, Miss Dora Vaughan of Memphis and Mrs. FL W. Williams of Nashville; four sons, W. M. Vaughan of Houston; and J. W. Vaughan, M. S. Vaughan and A. L. Vaughan of Memphis; and a sister, Mrs. Dora Stewart of Horn Lake, Miss. National Funeral Home has charge."
She was married to 3 Thomas Levi Algernon Vaughan (son of 4 Thomas Wesley Vaughan and 4 Phronie (Sophronia) 1883 in Arkabutla, Tate Co., Miss..
3 Thomas Levi Algernon Vaughan was born on Mar 29 1862 in [Marshall Co.,] Miss.. He died on Nov 9 1956 in Memphis, Shelby, Tenn.. He was buried on Nov 11 1956 in Edmondson Cemetery, De Soto Co., Miss.. The grave marker in Edmondson Cemetery is marked "VAUGHAN Levi A. 1862-1956." Edmondson Cemetery is at the old Edmondson Presbyterian Church (no longer standing) on State Line Road junction with Interstate Highway 5, exit 291, De Soto Co., Miss. He was christened in Methodist Church. 3/11/99 Thomas Levi Algernon Vaughan was called Levi or, less formally, "Algia" and "Algie." According to the federal census of 1870, when he was a young boy, his name was "Thomas A. Vaughan." He was probably named for his father and grandfather, both named Thomas Vaughan, and for an uncle, Levi Childress. The name Algernon probably came from another relative lost to the family's memory. The census taker in 1870 happened to list a first name that the family (or he at least) apparently never used. In letters written in 1883 to his bride-to-be, he signed himself "Algia." The census taker took down his name in 1920 as "Alginon."
Levi's mother, Phronie (Sophronia) Childress (Adams) Vaughan, was a young widow living in Lafayette County when she married his father. She died soon after giving birth to Levi and, perhaps to another son. (It is said in the family that Levi had a twin brother named Mark. If so, he must have died as an infant or child. The name has not appeared in any of the records.)
He was born in Mississippi. When he died in 1956, his family said that his place of birth was Arkabutla, in Tate County. However, it is appears that before and during the Civil War his father and mother lived in southeastern part of Marshall County, not far from Potts Camp and Hickory Flat, so he was probably born there. When he was born his father was away from home in the Confederate Army; in fact his birth occurred only a week before his father was in the great battle at Shiloh, Tennessee. He was a few months old when his father came home, an exchanged prisoner of war who had been wounded severely at the battle of Perryville, Kentucky. Soon afterwards, his mother died. His father remarried and Levi was reared by his father, his stepmother, Sallie Sanders Vaughan, and his grandmother, Jeanette Vaughan Wheatley. Twice a widow by 1870, "Grandma Wheatley" lived with her son Thomas and his family; her granddaughter Agnes Vaughan (Williams) recalled that she had an important role in rearing the boy.
His father, the partially disabled veteran, was a farmer. There were several children in the household when Algie was growing up: an older half-brother, Wiley Adams, son of his mother Sophronia Childress by her first husband; and two younger half-brothers and a half-sister, the children of his father and Sallie Sanders.
Algie's father and stepmother appear to have lived in several different places in Marshall, De Soto and Tippah counties, Mississippi, and in Shelby County, Tennessee, while he was growing up. He spent most of his youth in the Whitehaven area. His daughter Agnes wrote (in 1995) that although he attended school for only four years, "he was very bright. He often helped some of us children with difficult problems (even algebra)."
When he was a young man, living in Whitehaven, he got a job as a sewing machine salesman, traveling throughout North Mississippi selling the machines. On one of these trips, according to Agnes Vaughan (Williams), he met Ann Elizabeth Tennessee Goudy of Arkabutia, in Tate County, Mississippi, to the south of De Soto. In 1883, after a courtship that is marked by an exchange of letters that are preserved in the family files, he and Annie Goudy were married. Married on November 25 at Arkabutla, they took the train to Memphis on November 27. The couple established their home in Whitehaven, Tennessee, where they lived on State Line Road. He soon gave up his traveling salesman's job. He farmed and gardened a little, as people in such rural communities did, but he was a skilled carpenter and soon was making his living as a carpenter and small building contractor. His eight children were born in Whitehaven and in adjacent De Soto County, Mississippi, just across the line. Two of them died in infancy and childhood, but most of the others lived to good old ages. (His son Jesse was nearing the age of 94 when he died in July, 1993. His daughter Agnes was just under 100 years old when she died in 1997.)
The 1900 federal census (Shelby County, Tenn., 12th Civil District; vol. 62, E. D. 47, sheet 10, line 7) lists his family accurately, except as to dates of birth. It appears that the census taker made up the dates, getting them right within a matter of a few years in the case of the adults and a few months in the case of the children. The youngest son, "Wynne," was said to have been born in January 1900 (instead of November 1899).
Anna Leigh McCorkle (Tales of Old Whitehaven [privately printed, 1967], p. 114) mentioned his family, naming most of the children. She noted that he was one of the members of the Longstreet Methodist Church who accepted in 1905 a gift of land on Raines Road from the McCorkle family: "a sanctuary and small Sunday school room were built by A. W. Peek, father of Allie Peek, with the help of Algie Vaughan (pp. 110- 111). The family tradition was that he contributed funds and labor to the construction of the church, and the account by McCorkle bore out the story.
Most of his work as a carpenter was done in Shelby County. He was no doubt involved in the construction of some of the houses and commercial buildings of the period 1885- 1930 that still stand in Memphis. Like his son Jesse, he had the reputation of being a skilled craftsman. He made a good living for his family and saw to it that each of his children made a good start in life. Two of his daughters, Agnes and Dora, attended college. His sons generally went into skilled trades (with the exception of Maury, who was handicapped by deafness).
In early 1920, he and his family were living in a house at 1311 Ridgeway Street, Memphis. He and his son Jesse, 19, recently back from the U. S. Navy, were working as self-employed carpenters. Dora, 23, was teaching in the Memphis public schools. Agnes, 21, was in college. Maury, 16, was at home. A boarder, Grace Hudgens, 23, lived with them. Brothers Malvern and Al were away from home and not listed. See 1920 federal census, Shelby County, Tenn.; vol. 73, enumeration district 153, sheet 2, line 32.
With help from his children, he built a house at 278 Alexander Street, in a new subdivision on the eastern edge of the city of Memphis, in the late 1920s or early 1930s. He and his wife, "Miss Lizzie," lived there the rest of their lives. He retired at the time the new house was completed, since he was then about seventy. Some years later he had eye surgery to correct cataracts. An infection followed the surgery and left him totally blind. Because of his blindness he was forced into inactivity. His wife of seventy years died in 1953. He had been bedridden for a number of years when he died in 1956, aged 94.
His obituary appeared in the Memphis Press-Scimitar, November 10, 1956:
"L. A. Vaughan
L. A. Vaughan, retired building contractor, who was born at Arkabutla, Miss., during the Civil War, died yesterday afternoon at his home, 278 Alexander. He was 94.
"A resident of Memphis since 1883, he was a Methodist and member of Woodmen of the World. He retired about 25 years ago.
"He leaves four sons, W. M. Vaughan of Houston, Texas, and Jesse W., A. L. and Maury Vaughan, all of Memphis, his daughter, Mrs. H. W. Williams of Nashville, and four grandchildren.
"Services at 1 P.M. tomorrow at National Funeral Home. Dr. W. C. Aden officiating. Burial at Edmondson Chapel." 3 Ann Elizabeth Tennessee Goudy and 3 Thomas Levi Algernon Vaughan had the following children:
42 i. Daniel Algernon Vaughan was born on Dec 3 in Mississippi of birth Dates of birth and death are from pages extracted from the family bible, now in the genealogical files. He died on Apr 14 1887 in Whitehaven, Shelby, Tennessee. He was buried in Edmondson Cemetery, De Soto Co., Miss.. The family grave marker in Edmondson Cemetery says "Dan Vaughan 1884-1887" Daniel Algernon Vaughan, known as "Dannie" to his parents, died as a small child. It appears that no photos of him have survived.
43 ii. Annie Maude Vaughan was born on Mar 15 1886 in Mississippi. The dates of birth and death are taken from pages extracted from the family bible and now in the genealogical files. She died on May 23 1887 in Whitehaven, Shelby, Tennessee. She was buried in Edmondson Cemetery, De Soto Co., Miss.. The family grave marker in Edmondson Cemetery says "Ann M. 1886-1887." 1/7/95 Agnes Vaughan (Williams) wrote in 1995 that she had "a little slipper" that was worn by Annie Maude Vaughan, who died at the age of fourteen months.
44 iii. Wiley Malvern Vaughan
45 iv. Vaughan. Dora Vaughan was born on Jul 31 1895 in Whitehaven, Shelby, Tennessee. She died about Jan 29 1954 in Memphis, Shelby, Tennessee. She was christened in Methodist Church. She was buried in Edmondson Cemetery, De Soto Co., Miss.. 4/13/93 Dora Vaughan, born in 1895, probably was named for her aunt Dora Goudy, youngest of her mother's sisters. Dora Vaughan is mentioned by Anna Leigh McCorkle in her Tales of Old Whitehaven (1967), pp. 113, 114, 115. She appears in a good group picture of the pupils of Whitehaven School. In 1913 the school was accredited as a high school. Dora Vaughan is listed as one of the five first graduates, in 1914.
Dora Vaughan, who enrolled at West Tennessee Normal School (later Memphis State College and Memphis State University) soon after it opened its doors in 1912, was a teacher for many years (1918 or 1919 to her death in 1954). She was admired by her niece, Janis Vaughn, when Jan was a child and young woman. When Dora died at the early age of 58, she left a scrapbook and photo albums showing that she had enjoyed life and had fun. She was a gifted teacher and gave Jan encouragement to become a teacher. She was vivacious and well-liked. She had suitors but never married.
Her obituary appeared in the Memphis Commercial Appeal [undated clipping, January 1954].
MISS DORA VAUGHAN SCHOOL TEACHER, DIES
Services Scheduled for 2 Tomorrow Afternoon
"Services for Miss Dora Vaughan of 278 Alexander, an eighth grade arithmetic teacher at A. B. Hill School for 35 years, will be held at 2 tomorrow afternoon at National Funeral Home. Burial will be in Edmondson Chapel Cemetery.
"Miss Vaughan, who was 58, died at 12:45 yesterday afternoon at Methodist Hospital after an illness of three weeks.
"Born in Whitehaven, Miss Vaughan was the daughter of L. A. Vaughan and the late Mrs. Elizabeth Gowdy Vaughan.
"Miss Vaughan directed the A. B. Hill School Safety Council and had taught Sunday School at St. Lukes Methodist Church. She attended Memphis State College.
"Miss Vaughan leaves her father; a sister, Mrs. H. W. Williams of Nashville; and four brothers, W. M. Vaughan of Houston, Texas; M. S. Vaughan, J. W. Vaughan and A. L. Vaughan, all of Memphis."
An obituary from the Memphis Press-Scimitar (also undated], repeats the above information, adding that she was born July 31, 1895, and that she was educated in the Whitehaven and Memphis schools and attended Memphis State College. It refers (incorrectly) to "the late L. A. Vaughan," her father, and it spells her mothers maiden name (correctly) "Goudy."
The cause of her death was stomach cancer.
46 v. Agnes Vaughan.
47 vi. 2 Jesse Wynne Vaughn.
48 vii. Algia Love Vaughan.
49 viii. Maury Stewart Vaughan.
29. Dora Melissa Goudy was born on Oct 30 1879 in Hickory Flat, Mississippi. She died after 1958. She furnished information on the family in 1958. 4/27/94 Dora Goudy Stewart of Hickory Flat, Mississippi, provided information on the birthdates of her generation of the Goudy family. She is mentioned as living in Hickory Flat in 1909, when her mother died (undated obituary of Mary F. Goudy).
Dora Melissa Goudy and John Stewart had the following children:
+50 i. Bessie Stewart.
38. Arch Evander Goudy was born on Apr 19 1874 in [Tippah County, Mississippi]. He died
on Jan 29 1952 in [Tippah County, Mississippi].
He was married to Sena Arch Evander Goudy and Sena ---- had the following children:
51 i. Fred Gowdy was born in 1904. He died in 1935.
39. Etta Lee Goudy was born about 1877 in [Tippah County, Mississippi].
She was married to Samuel Howell on Dee 29 1898.
41. Vergie Goudy was born in Apr 1880 in [Tippah County, Mississippi].
She was married to R. P. Jones on May 22 1902 in Tippah Co., Miss..
44. Wiley Malvern Vaughan was born on Jan 15 1889 in Whitehaven, Shelby, Tenn.. He died on Apr 21 1980 in Houston, Harris, Texas. He was buried in Hollywood Cemetery, Houston, Texas.
He was married to Emma F. Reese on Dec 26 1919 in Memphis, Shelby, Tenn..
Emma F. Reese was born on Sep 5 1889. She died on Sep 2 1976 in Houston, Harris, Texas. She was buried in Hollywood Cemetery, Houston, Texas.
46. Agnes Vaughan was born on Oct 4 1897 in Whitehaven, Shelby Co., Tennessee. She was christened about 1898 in the Methodist Church. She died on Mar 21 1997 in Nashville, Davidson, Tennessee.
She was married to Rev. Horace W. Williams before 1928 in Nashville, Davidson, Tenn..
Rev. Horace W. Williams was born on Jul 1 1895 in Texas." He died in Jan 1987 in Nashville, Davidson, Tenn.. He was christened in the Methodist Church. Agnes Vaughan and Rev. Horace W. Williams had the following children:
52 i. Mary Elizabeth Williams was born about
1928 in Nashville, Davidson, Tennessee.
53 ii. Joseph Williams
54 iii. Horace W. Williams Jr.
47. 2 Jesse Wynne Vaughn was born on Nov 15 1899 in Whitehaven, Shelby, Tenn.. He served in the military between 1917 and 1919 in U. S. Navy, World War 1. He died on Jul 1 1993 in Memphis, Shelby, Tenn.. He was buried on Jul 3 1993 in Memorial Park Cem., Memphis, Tenn.. He was christened in the Methodist Church.
He was married to 2 Dorothy Arnette Lloyd (daughter of 3 Eugene Carey Lloyd and 3 Emma Lula Evans) on Jun 22 1929 in Hernando, De Soto Co., Miss..
2 Dorothy Arnette Lloyd was born on May 5 1907 in Covington, Tipton, Tenn.. She died on May 17 1987 in Memphis, Shelby, Tenn.. She was buried on May 19 1987 in Memorial Park Cem., Memphis, Tenn.. She was christened in the Baptist Church. 2 Jesse Wynne Vaughn and 2 Dorothy Arnette Lloyd had the following children:
55 i. 1 Janis Fay Vaughn
48. Algin Love Vaughan was born May 2 1902 in Whitehaven, Shelby, Tenn.. He died on Jan 26 1983 in Memphis, Shelby, Tenn.. He was buried on Jan 28 1983 in Memorial Park Cem., Memphis, Tenn..
He was married to Teresa "Billie" [Perkins?).
49. Maury Stewart Vaughan was born on Sep 11 1904 in Whitehaven, Shelby, Tenn. He died in April 1984 in Memphis, Shelby, Tenn.. He was buried in Edmondson Cemetery, De Soto Co., Miss..
He was married to Mrs. Jessie Henley in 1952 in Memphis, Tennessee. He was divorced from Mrs. Jessie Henley.
Mrs. Jessie Henley was born about 1911.
50. Bessie Stewart was born on Dec 15 1906 in De Soto Co., Miss.. She died on Apr 23 1993 in Southaven, De Soto, Mississippi. She was buried on Apr 25 1993 in Blocker Cem., Olive Branch, De Soto Co., Miss.. She was christened in the Methodist Church.
Bessie Stewart and Earl Ross had the following children:
56 i. Charlotte Ross
57 ii. Bessie Joyce Ross
58 iii. Rowe Ross was born in Horn Lake, Mississippi.
BACK TO TABLE OF CONTENTS